Personal Injury Attorneys in Colorado
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Car accidents that involve injury can leave you traumatized and with a lot to deal with. Hiring a Colorado personal injury attorney can help you move forward and heal knowing your rights will be represented. When you hire your attorney, ask questions upfront to make sure you hire someone you can trust. Finally, make sure you understand laws that can affect your case.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Hiring a CO Personal Injury Attorney
Getting into a car accident can leave you injured and with a lot of hassles to deal with as you try to heal. Having a personal injury lawyer to help guide you through your personal injury case and represent your best interests can be a huge asset and help you get the appropriate compensation.
It's particularly helpful to get a personal injury attorney IF:
- You have very serious injuries and large medical bills resulting from the accident.
- Fault for the accident is shared or unclear.
- The accident made existing injuries worse.
- You've suffered non-economic losses such as pain and suffers or emotional trauma.
- You've lost wages due to injuries stemming from the accident.
Questions to Ask a Personal Injury Lawyer
It's essential that you make a smart decision about which personal injury attorney to hire.
You want someone with a good track record and who is professional. Be sure to ask about the following, at a minimum:
- How long have they been practicing law?
- Is personal injury their main area of practice?
- Track record.
- How many cases have they won?
- Opinion of your case.
- Do they think you'll win your case?
- How long do they think it will take to resolve your case?
Also ask any other questions you need to about your personal situation. And remember it's always smart to talk to several attorneys before choosing one.
CO Personal Injury Laws to Consider
Statute of Limitations
After a personal injury accident, you have a certain time limit to file a case in court. This time window is called the â€œstatute of limitations" and it varies by state.
In Colorado, the statute of limitations for a personal injury lawsuit is 2 years from the date of the car accident.
NOTE: In some cases, you may not know you were injured right away. When this happens, you might be able to start the time from the date you discovered you were injured vs. the actual accident date. Speak with your attorney if this is the case.
Fault isn't always cut and dry when it comes to car accidents. For example, both drivers may actually be at fault. When this happens, state law will determine how damages are provided.
In Colorado, the modified comparative fault rule is used. This sounds complicated but here's how it works:
- The damages you are eligible to receive are reduced by the percent of fault you hold.
- Example: If you were hit but were found to be 10% at fault and the total damages were $100,000, you could receive $90,000.
- If you are 50% at fault or more, you are NOT eligible to receive any compensation.
You may hear about this law in your insurance negotiations. If you have any questions, your personal injury attorney should be able to answer them for you.