Pay Traffic Ticket in Colorado
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
NOTE: You must pay your traffic ticket within 20 days of receiving it.
Depending on the court handling your case, you may be able to pay your traffic ticket online, by phone, by mail, or in person. For specific instructions, refer to your CO traffic ticket or contact the appropriate traffic court.
We've outlined Colorado's traffic ticket processes below.
Pay Your CO Traffic Ticket
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Receive points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Incur possible jump in auto insurance rates.
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Challenge traffic ticket in court.
- Represent yourself or hire an attorney.
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
- Have charges dismissed if found not guilty, but still pay court and attorney fees.
- Possibly be charged guilty and pay ticket fine, court and lawyer fees.
Responding to Your CO Ticket
In Colorado, paying your traffic ticket is an admission of guilt and an agreement to waive your right to appear in court to fight the charge.
Upon conviction of your violation, the court notifies the CO Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which means:
- You may be assessed points on your driving record; read more on our Points System page.
- You may see an increase in your car insurance premiums.
- Possible loss of driving privileges due to an excessive number of points on your driving record.
Be sure to read both sides of your Colorado traffic ticket. On it, you will find your court date, court location, and fine amount. If you decide to pay without fighting the ticket, you must submit payment to the CO DMV.
You may be required to appear in court. This should be clearly noted on your citation. If you're unclear about this, contact the court listed on your traffic ticket for clarification.
If you're convicted of a CO traffic violation (parking tickets excluded) while holding a commercial driver's license, you must, by law, notify your employer. This applies to all vehicles, including your own personal car.
Pay Your CO Traffic Ticket Online
Depending on your county, you may have the option to pay your traffic ticket online. If that's the case be sure you check out the last two sections on this page. They cover info on checking your Colorado driving record and saving money on your auto insurance.
Pay Your Traffic Ticket
In Colorado, ticket payment options vary by county. You'll need to pay your ticket within 20 days or risk further penalties.
Most of the information that you'll need to pay your CO traffic ticket fine will be detailed on the citation. If you need more information, visit the county's website.
Depending on the county, you may have some or all of the following payment options:
- By mail.
- In person.
- By phone.
Pay Traffic Tickets Online
Most counties allow drivers to pay their traffic tickets online.
Simply visit the Colorado State Judicial On-line Payment Process, search for your county (or the county in which you received the ticket, enter the ticket number, and follow the instructions.
Other Payment Methods
If you're not able to pay your traffic citation online, you might be able to pay in person, by phone, or by mail—depending on your court.
Just search the county website for the Colorado county in which you received the citation and check for payment options.
Driver Improvement & Driving Records
Depending on your situation, your judge might dismiss your traffic ticket if you complete a defensive driving or driver improvement course. Understand that this is on a case-by-case basis and is in no way an automatic option.
Ask your judge if taking a Colorado driving course for ticket dismissal is an option for you.
For details about the state's approved courses, refer to our guide to Defensive Driving in Colorado.
Check Your CO Driving Record
It's important to periodically monitor your driving record for accuracy. This is especially important after receiving a CO traffic ticket. Wrongly added points could adversely affect your car insurance rates. For more information on traffic violations and points, please visit our page about Colorado's point system.