Other Vehicle Registrations in Colorado
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
This page gives you all the information you need to register your special vehicle and avoid being hit with a fine and other penalties.
ATVs and Snowmobiles in Colorado
Yes, you do have to register your ATV or snowmobile before you head to the back country to enjoy Colorado's great outdoors. In fact, all off-highway vehicles (OHVs) need registration, including dirt bikes, three-wheelers, and dune buggies.
The registration process is a little different to registering your car. Instead of registering through the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you register through the Parks and Wildlife Registration Unit using a Registration Application (Form APRG09001). Once you've completed the form, you can return it to:
Parks and Wildlife Registration Unit
13787 South Highway 85
Littleton, CO 80125
OHV registration currently costs $25.25 and is valid until March 31st. Snowmobile registration currently costs $30.25 and is valid from October 1 to September 30. Partial year registrations cannot be prorated.
The easiest way to renew your registration is online. All you need is the vehicle registration, payment for the appropriate fees, and to print out a temporary permit.
If you're more comfortable without a computer, you can always complete the registration renewal card and send it to the indicated address.
Custom-Built Car Registration
To register your custom-built car in Colorado, you will first need to apply for a vehicle identification number (VIN). First have it inspected by a member of law enforcement. If it passes the inspection, you will be given a Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form (Form DR 2704). The fee for the VIN inspection is $20.
Next, visit your local Colorado DMV office with:
- A completed Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Declaration of Facts (Form DR 2426), if your car is home-built or built from a kit.
- A completed Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Application (Form DR 2408).
- Payment for the $3.50 fee.
Once you have your VIN, take the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection form (Form DR 2704) to an emissions testing center. It must pass the emissions test before you can register it.
Once this is done, you're ready to have it registered, which is the same process as registration a standard car or truck. Visit our Colorado Car Registration page for steps.
Trailer Registration in Colorado
Some states don't title or register trailers, so if this is the case you'll want to go to your local county office with documentation that proves you own the trailer. If you are using a Manufacturers Statement of Origin (MSO), it will only be accepted if it is printed on secure paper unless it meets exemptions.
You will also need:
- A Statement of Trailer Ownership (Form DR 2374) and a bill of sale for tax purposes.
- A completed and signed Verification of Vehicle Identification Number (Form DR 2698) as proof of a VIN verification for an out-of-state trailer. Fees for the VIN verification vary by location.
To register your custom-built, rebuilt or reconstructed trailer in Colorado, you will first need to apply for a vehicle identification number (VIN) by having your trailer inspected by a member of law enforcement. When it passes the inspection, you will be given a Colorado Certified VIN Inspection (Form DR 2704). There is a $20 fee for your trailer VIN inspection. You may be required to bring additional documentation with you when you apply for a VIN. Please contact the CO State Patrol for more information.
If you were handy enough to build or assemble your own trailer, it still needs titling. To get your title and registration, you'll use the same procedure as a regular trailer, but you'll also have to complete a Statement of Assembly of Homemade Trailer and Assignment of Trailer I.D. Number (Form DR 2409). In addition, you'll have to provide a bill of sale for all materials used to put the trailer together, such as axles and wheels.
In all cases you'll also want to have the following:
- Colorado driver's license.
- Proof of insurance for the vehicle pulling the trailer.
Boats and Small Vessels
There are quite a few people out there who say boats and trailers go hand in hand. Once you've titled and registered your trailer, you'll have to register your boat, too. See our boat registration page for more information.
RVs and Campers in Colorado
Recreational vehicles, motorhomes, and campers all use the same registration processes as standard vehicles in Colorado. You will simply need to be prepared to pay a different fee, based upon the size and empty weight of your RV. Visit our page on Colorado Car Registration for the steps to register your motorhome or RV.
Motorcycles and Mopeds
Yes, you do need to register your motorcycle or moped before cruising the Colorado mountain roads. See our guide to registering motorcycles, mopeds, and scooters.
Verification of Vehicle Identification Number - DR 2698
Form required to verify the VIN on a Colorado vehicle previously titled/registered out-of-state OR to correct a title. Must be completed by a DMV-approved VIN verification provider.
Statement of Trailer Ownership - DR 2374
Form used to verify ownership of a trailer brought into Colorado from a state that doesn't issue titles or registrations for small trailers.
Statement of Assembly of Homemade Trailer and Assignment of Trailer I.D. Number - DR 2409
Form required to describe how you built a homemade trailer you'd like to title and register with the Colorado DMV.
Registration Application - APRG09001
Application to register a boat, off-road vehicle, OR snowmobile with the CO Division of Motor Vehicles.
Rebuilders Title to Regular Title Checklist - DR 2426
Checklist of all the items required by the DMV to convert a Colorado rebuilder's title to a regular vehicle title.
Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Application - DR 2408
Request a vehicle identification number (VIN) from the CO DMV if your car's VIN was removed, destroyed, altered, OR never issued.
Certified VIN Inspection - DR 2704
Submit this form to the DMV after completing the required certified VIN inspection for vehicles that are rebuilt, reconstructed, have bonded title, OR are built from a kit. Form must be obtained from a certified Colorado VIN inspector. Not available online.