Replacing a Lost CDL in California
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
You must apply to replace your commercial driver's license in person with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Be prepared to complete the application, provide various proofs of identification, and pay the applicable fee.
Help protect your identity and report your lost CDL to local and state law enforcement agencies and remember, it's illegal to operate a commercial vehicle without a valid CDL on you.
Apply for a Duplicate CDL in CA
Once you get to the DMV, you will:
- Complete the Commercial Driver License Application (Form DL 44C).
- For identity protection purposes, the CA DMV doesn't provide this application online; you can get one at your local DMV or contact the DMV's Automated Telephone Service at (800) 777-0133 to request an application by mail.
- Provide your thumbprint.
- Pay the $32 for a duplicate CDL (Classes A, B, and C).
For additional identity protection, the DMV validate your personal information, photograph, and Social Security number.
Temporary California CDL
After you apply for a replacement CDL, you'll receive either a temporary CDL or a receipt for your new CDL. Keep this temporary CDL or receipt in your commercial truck until you receive your new, permanent commercial driver's license.
- Your temporary CDL or receipt is valid for 90 days.
- Keep this in your commercial truck until you receive your new CDL.
- The DMV will mail your new CDL within 60 days.
- Make sure your current address is on file with the DMV.
- If you don't receive your new CDL after 60 days, contact the DMV at (800) 777-0133.