Suspended License in Arizona
A personal driving record can be obtained via the Arizona MVD. A potentially faster and more convenient option is to get a copy of your driver record from our approved partner.
Driver License Suspension in Arizona
If the Department of Transportation (DOT) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) suspended your Arizona driver license, you’ll need to satisfy your suspension requirements before you can reinstate your license.
NOTE: On top of any MVD suspensions, you may also face additional suspensions and penalties from state and federal courts. Please be aware that you may need to satisfy court requirements as well as MVD requirements in order to reinstate your AZ driver’s license.
The Arizona DOT may suspend or revoke your license for reasons including:
- A DUI or driving under the influence of a drug.
- Reckless or aggressive driving.
- Causing an accident that results in serious injury or death.
- Excess driving record points.
- Felonies committed in a vehicle.
- Failing to appear in court or pay a fine.
- Violating insurance laws.
- Being medically unable to drive.
On this page you’ll find information about your license suspensions, reinstating your license, and obtaining a restricted license.
About Your Suspended License in AZ
If you are convicted of certain crimes or accumulate too many driving record points on your driving record, your AZ driver’s license can be suspended or revoked.
NOTE: Criminal convictions are administered through the court system. To reinstate your driver’s license, you’ll need to satisfy both court and AZ MVD requirements. See “Reinstate Your AZ Driver’s License” below.
The Arizona MVD will notify you when your driver license has been suspended.
The terms of your license suspension or revocation may vary depending on your offense.
Points on Your Driving Record
If you earn 8 points or more on your driving record within 12 months:
- You may need to attend an AZ Traffic Survival School (TSS).
- Your driver’s license may be suspended for up to 12 months.
You will earn 8 points immediately for violations including:
- A DUI.
- Reckless driving.
- Aggressive driving.
For more information on driving record points, please see our DMV Point System in Arizona page.
Driving Under the Influence
If you refuse or fail a drug/DUI blood or breath test, the AZ MVD will suspend your driver’s license. You may also face additional criminal charges if convicted of a DUI in court.
Your driver’s license will be revoked if:
- You are convicted of a felony involving a vehicle.
- You are caught driving under the influence of drugs.
- You give false information to the Arizona MVD.
- You have 2 convictions or more of:
- Reckless driving violations.
- Highway racing violations.
If your license was revoked, the AZ MVD will need to complete an investigation before you can reinstate your license. (See “Reinstate Your AZ Driver’s License” below.)
NOTE: Your vehicle may be impounded for 30 days if you drive with a suspended or revoked license.
Check Your Driver License Status
Convictions, license suspensions, and revocations will show up on your driving record for 3 years or 5 years.
You may be able to dismiss traffic tickets and remove points from your driving record by completing an online defensive driving course.
AZ Suspension Hearings and Appeals
If you disagree with your driver’s license suspension, you can request an Arizona MVD administrative hearing.
MVD hearings have no affect on criminal proceedings and court decisions.
NOTE: If your driver license suspension or revocation was classified as mandatory, you cannot request a hearing.
To request a hearing for your Arizona MVD suspension:
- E-mail your request through the AZ MVD online system.
- Complete a Hearing Request form and:
- Take it to an Arizona DMV office.
- Mail it to:
Executive Hearing Office
P.O. Box 2100 MD 507M
Phoenix, AZ 85001
- Fax your request to (602) 241-1624.
After the AZ DMV receives your request, your hearing will be scheduled. You will receive written notice of the hearing date, time, and location of your hearing.
NOTE: Your suspension or revocation may be put on hold until your hearing is completed. Check your notice to see if this applies to you.
If you disagree with the outcome of your hearing, you may be able to request a re-hearing at the Executive Hearing Office if you meet the requirements in Article 5 of the Arizona Administrative Code..
If you’d like to appeal the decision of your hearing, you must do so through the Arizona superior court.
For more information about administrative hearings, please refer to the Arizona MVD website.
DUI Suspensions in Arizona
Your Arizona driver’s license will be suspended on your first DUI conviction. Your license will be revoked for subsequent DUI convictions.
Depending on the number of DUIs you’ve been convicted of and the circumstances of your offense, you may face additional criminal charges from the court, such as:
- Fines of $1,250 to $3,250.
- Prison or jail sentences for 10 days to 2 years.
In addition to satisfying your court requirements, completing an alcohol education program and community service, you’ll need to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle before you can reinstate your license through the Arizona MVD.
For more information on the ignition interlock device, please see the Arizona MVD website.
How to Reinstate Your AZ Driver’s License
Reinstate a Suspended Driver’s License
To reinstate your suspended drivers license:
- Satisfy any court requirements and fines, if applicable.
- Wait until your suspension period has ended.
- Visit your local Arizona DMV office with:
- Any court clearance documents, if applicable.
- Pay the $10 reinstatement fee.
- Proof of future financial responsibility (Form SR22) from your insurance company, if applicable.
- You must maintain proof of coverage for 3 years.
If you have submitted the necessary documents and have a digital photo on file with the Arizona MVD, you can pay your reinstatement fee in person at an Arizona DMV office, online, or by mail.
- Online: Visit the ADOT website. You’ll need to provide your:
- Driver license number.
- Date of birth.
If you pay for your reinstatement online, your driver’s license will be mailed to you.
NOTE: You must visit an AZ MVD office in person if you don’t have a photo on file.
Reinstate a Revoked License
To reinstate a revoked driver’s license you must first complete and submit a Revocation Investigation Packet.
Follow the same steps outlined for reinstating a suspended license above. In addition to this, you must provide the AZ DMV with your permission to apply notice, which you will receive once the ADOT completes its investigation.
Medical Review Suspensions and Revocations
If your license suspension/revocation was caused by a medical reason you can request a hearing to have your case reviewed. You can request a hearing:
- In person at the Executive Hearing Office or any MVD office statewide.
- By fax: (602) 241-1624.
- By e-mail using the ADOT contact form.
- By mailing your request to:
Executive Hearing Office
Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001
If your driver license was suspended or revoked for any other medical review reasons, contact the Arizona DOT Medical Review Program at (602) 771-2460.
Obtain a Restricted Driver’s License
You can only obtain a restricted Arizona driver license if your suspension was caused by an insurance law violation or DUI.
DUI Suspensions and Revocations
Special Restricted Driver’s License
If you were convicted of a DUI and are eligible for a Special Restricted Driver License (SIIRDL). If you are eligible the Arizona MVD will send you information for a SIIRDL after your suspension begins.If you do not receive a notice you can contact the MVD to check your eligibility.
In order to be eligible for a SIIRDL you must:
- Complete a portion of your suspension.
- Have no pending withdrawal actions.
- Installed an ignition interlock device and submitted the “Verification of Installation” form to the AZ MVD.
- Completed any necessary alcohol education and treatment programs.
- Submitted a Proof of Future Financial Responsibility (SR22) to the AZ MVD.
- Available from your insurance company.
- Have paid your fees.
Your SIIRDL will allow you to drive:
- To and from work.
- During work (for business purposes).
- To and from school.
- To and from an alcohol treatment center.
Other Suspension & Revocation Violations
If your Arizona driver’s license was suspended for other reasons than DUI you must complete an Investigation Packet (Form 99-0139)
You must have:
- Completed your revocation or suspension period.
- Satisfied the judgement of the court (if applicable).
- Not had your license suspension or revocation issued from outside AZ.
- All violations other than the reason for your suspension or revocation must be satisfied.
Other requirements will depend on the reason your license was suspended or revoked. The Investigation Packet (Form 99-0139) has the steps you will need to take for each type of suspension or revocation.
Fees to Reinstate Your AZ License
To reinstate your Arizona driver license, you must pay both a reinstatement fee and an application fee. You will also need to pay any additional court fees and cost, if applicable.
- Suspended driver’s license: $10.
- Revoked drivers license: $20.
- 50 years old and older: $10.
- 45 to 49 years old: $15.
- 40 to 44 years old: $20.
- 16 to 39 years old: $25.
Accepted Forms of Payment
- Online: VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover credit/debit cards.
- By Mail: Money order.
- In Person:
- Money order.
- Credit/debit cards in some Arizona MVD offices.
NOTE: Reinstatement fees cannot be paid by check.
CDL Suspensions in Arizona
Your Arizona commercial drivers license (CDL) can be suspended whether you violate traffic laws or commit crimes in Arizona or out of state.
Depending on your offense, you may face both state and federal suspensions and charges, and your CDL may be suspended or revoked for 60 days to lifetime.
To reinstate your CDL, please see the MVD's Commercial Driver's License Suspension and Revocation page.
NOTE: If your CDL has been disqualified for 1 year or more, you will need to pass all written and driving tests and pay the necessary application, licensing and reinstatement fees.
For more information, please refer to the Arizona Commercial Driver License Manual and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.