DMV Point System in Arizona
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
If you want the freedom of the open road, you'll also have to take on the responsibility for keeping that road a safe place.
Certain moving violations in Arizona won't just leave you with a traffic ticket to deal with—they'll also add points to your AZ license. And if you collect too many, it could interfere with your ability to drive freely.
Read below for more information on how the Arizona DMV point system works and how it can affect your driving future.
Arizona Point System Basics
Think of your driving record like a round of golf: the more points you have to your name, the worse you're doing.
Collecting too many on your driving record will come with consequences.
If you acquire 8 points or more within 12 months, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) may:
- Suspend your license.
- Suspension could last up to 12 months.
- May be require you to attend a Traffic Survival School.
- If you are under 18 years old, and this is your first violation you will be required to take the Traffic Survival School course.
And that's not the only fallout you may face. Too many points on your record will also typically have a negative impact on your auto insurance rate.
You can find out more about how many points some common violations are worth below.
NOTE: Commercial drivers may face additional penalties for acquiring points on your commercial driver's license.
Worried about your current car insurance rate? It will likely change if you get too many points on your license.
Find out more about how your insurance rate works—and how you can help keep it as low as possible.
AZ Point System Schedule
How many points the AZ MVD assigns to a traffic ticket depends on how severe the moving violation is.
If you receive 8 points or more within 12 months, the Motor Vehicle Division will automatically issue a penalty.
Some common citations worth 8 points in Arizona include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Reckless driving.
- Racing on a highway.
Other less severe incidents have a lower impact on your driving record, and will typically cost either:
- 6 points, for incidents like leaving the scene of a crash.
- 4 points, for situations such as failure to stop or yield, resulting in a serious injury.
- 3 points, for violations like speeding.
- 2 points, for all other moving violations.
Mistakes on your driving record can end up costing you more than a pretty penny—you could have your license suspended for points that shouldn't be there.
Always stay on top of your information by checking your AZ driving record.
Reducing Driving Record Points
Arizona is a tough state when it comes to racking up driving violations.
You will NOT be able to utilize a defensive driving course or traffic survival school in Arizona to knock points off of your driving record.
However, there may be other ways to see that number shrink over time. Contact your local AZ MVD office or an Arizona traffic ticket attorney to ask for more information on how to reduce points from your AZ driving record.