Veterans living in the Golden State will now be able to designate their military status on their licenses, after the California legislature passed a new law earlier this month allowing for the recognition.
While military IDs are given to all active-duty and veteran members of the armed forces, the license designation will offer another way for vets to prove their status.
Specifically, the measure is intended to help confirm veteran designation at businesses that offer discounts for service members, or to help service members receive any other privileges or benefits that are offered to members of the military, according to Vito Imbasciani, secretary of the California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet).
The license designation will cost an additional $5, on top of regular Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) licensing fees.
In order to have a veteran status license issued, you must:
- Complete a Veteran Status Verification Form (VSD-001).
- These forms are available at County Veteran Service offices ONLY, and will NOT be accessible at DMV locations.
- Complete either a:
- Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44).
- Commercial Driver License Application (DL 44C).
- NOTE: Both forms are available at any DMV office.
- Hand in all paperwork and pay applicable fees—including the additional $5 veterans designation charge—at your local DMV office.