Traffic Ticket FAQ in Arkansas
Getting a traffic ticket is not what anyone would call “a pleasant experience.” That being said, knowing what to do can make a frustrating situation a little less stressful. This page should answer any questions you might have about dealing with an Arkansas traffic ticket.
What do I do if I get a traffic ticket in AR?
When you get a traffic citation, you’ll have the option to EITHER plead:
- Guilty or no contest, meaning you intend to pay your fine and deal with any applicable penalties.
- Not guilty, meaning you intend to fight your ticket in court.
Our pages on paying your traffic ticket and fighting your ticket have more information on each option and will help you determine which is best for you.
Which court has my traffic ticket?
District courts handle traffic tickets in Arkansas. The district court for the area in which you received your ticket is in charge of taking your plea, collecting the fine and court costs, and/or scheduling and providing your hearing.
Check your ticket for court information. You can also visit the Arkansas Judiciary District Courts page to find the court’s contact information.
How can I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
You can get an Arkansas traffic ticket dismissed by fighting the ticket in court and winning.
Beyond that, the court may allow you to complete traffic school or a defensive driving course to reduce the points off of your record. Contact the court to see if this is an option for you.
Because of what's at stake, many drivers choose to hire traffic ticket attorneys to help them win.
Do the courts offer traffic school for ticket dismissal?
Arkansas DOES NOT officially offer this option, but you may be able to petition the court to allow you to take a course to remove points from your driving record. Contact the court to see if this is an option.
How does the state's point system work?
The amount of points you get for a moving violation depends on the type of violation and its severity. One conviction can result in anywhere from 3 to 8 points being added to your driving record.
Your license will be suspended once you accumulate a minimum of 14 points, and the length of your suspension increases based on the amount of additional points you gather.
Head over to our pages on traffic fines and penalties and suspended Arkansas licenses for more information.
What if I have an Arkansas CDL and get a traffic ticket?
If you have a CDL, you can plead guilty, no contest, or not guilty like other drivers.
However, if you plead guilty or no contest, or are found guilty, then you:
- Must bring the ticket to the attention of your employer within 30 days of the conviction, even if the violation happened in your personal vehicle.
- Face penalties that could cripple or end your driving career (for certain offenses).
For more information, please visit our page on ticket fines and penalties.
How will traffic violations affect me if I'm younger than 18 years old?
If you are younger than 18 years old and get a traffic ticket, you won't be able to move on to the next license in the Graduated Driver License (GDL) program if you receive a violation within a certain time period leading up to eligibility.
For example, you can't get an intermediate license if you receive a traffic violation with your learner's license during the last 6 months leading up to intermediate license eligibility.
How much do DUI or DWI fines cost?
Like traffic ticket fines and court costs, DUI and DWI surcharges vary by court.
Generally, they vary by offense number, too, meaning you'll pay more for repeat offenses.
Our page on DUI penalties in Arkansas has more information on this subject.
Why is it a good idea to order a driving record?
Because your driving record shows your points, it also lets you see:
- How close you are to license suspension.
- Whether your record accurately reflects the amount of points you’ve collected.
- What potential auto insurance providers and even employers see when they look at it.
Find instructions for requesting your record on our AR driving records page.
What is the total cost of my traffic ticket?
The total amount you'll pay depends on:
- The traffic violation.
- Violation surcharges, such as DUI and Alcohol and Drug Safety Awareness Program (ADSAP) costs.
- Penalty costs, such as license reinstatement fees.
- The court handling your citation.
Learn more by visiting our page on ticket fines and penalties.
Are traffic ticket fines the same throughout the state?
No. Traffic ticket fines vary both by violation and by court.
Check your citation for your traffic ticket fine or contact your court for the exact amount.
How can I find a lost traffic ticket online?
Arkansas doesn't have an online traffic ticket search system in place, but you can contact your court to find out anything you need to know about your citation.
Please refer to our page on lost AR traffic tickets for more information.
When is it a good idea to hire a traffic ticket attorney?
Think about hiring a traffic ticket attorney in Arkansas if you:
- Don't want to represent yourself.
- Are unsure about the best ways to prepare and present your case.
- Wish to seek expert advice.
- Want to appeal a guilty verdict.
Note that drivers often hire lawyers if they're facing charges that:
- Are related to:
- DUI or DWI.
- Serious criminal or felony acts, such as vehicular manslaughter.
- Could result in incarceration or long-time loss of driving privileges.
How many points before my license gets suspended?
If you build up:
- 10 to 13 points, you’ll get a warning letter.
- 14 to 17 points, your license may be suspended for 5 business days.
- 18 to 23 points, your license may be suspended for 10 business days.
- 24 points or more, your license may be suspended for 20 business days.
The state automatically schedules a hearing if your license is at risk for suspension, the outcome from which will be:
- No action.
- License restriction.
- License suspension.
Visit our page on suspended AR licenses to learn more.