Suspended License in Arkansas
Searching the Arkansas OMV for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact OMV
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver License Suspension in Arkansas
If your Arkansas driver's license was suspended by the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), you'll need to satisfy your suspension requirements in order to reinstate it.
Your driver's license may be suspended for reasons including:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs/alcohol and other related offenses.
- Speeding and reckless driving.
- Violating insurance laws.
- Hit and runs.
- Seat belt violations.
On this page you'll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your AR driver's license.
The duration of your driver's license suspension in Arkansas and your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: In addition to any Arkansas DMV penalties, you may face court requirements and fines if you were convicted of a crime.
Some common offenses that may lead to a suspended license include:
- Seat belt violations.
- Alcohol-related violations.
- Failing to maintain liability insurance.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Reckless or unsafe driving.
If you are found driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you will be charged with a DUI. Your license may be suspended for:
- 6 months for a 1st offense DWI/DUI.
- 180 days for a 1st offense BAC test refusal.
- 2 years for a 2nd offense within 5 years.
- 30 months for a 3rd offense within 5 years.
- 4 years for a 4th offense within 5 years.
Your license may be revoked permanently for a 4th offense BAC test refusal within 5 years.
When your driver's license is suspended, you should receive a suspension notice from the Arkansas DMV that includes information on how to reinstate your license and how to request a hearing.
NOTE: These penalties are assessed by the DFA and law enforcement and are separate from any criminal penalties you may face from the local courts.
For more information, please contact the Arkansas DFA Office of Driver Control at (501) 682-1631.
Check Your Driver's License Status
Traffic violations and convictions will lead to points on your driving record. If you accumulate too many points, your driver's license can be suspended.
The Arkansas DMV will:
- Send you a warning letter, after 10-13 points.
- Suspend your license for 3 months, after 14-17 points.
- Suspend your license for 6 months, after 18-23 points.
- Suspend your license for 1 year, after 24 points or more.
When action is taken against your driver's license, the Arkansas DMV will mail you a suspension notice and administrative hearing information.
If your suspension has resulted by accumulating too many driving record points, an administrative hearing will automatically be scheduled for you. The hearing officer will make one of the following decisions on your driver's license:
- No action.
NOTE: If you fail to attend your AR DMV administrative hearing, your license will be suspended.
If your suspension was caused by refusing or failing a BAC test, you must request an administrative hearing within 7 days of your arrest. Follow the instructions on your suspension notice.
Get the legal support you need to help with your Arkansas driver's license suspension. Contact a local attorney today.
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your suspension.
To reinstate your Arkansas driver's license, you generally may need to:
- Satisfy your court requirements, if applicable.
- Submit any clearance documents.
- File an SR22 or proof of insurance.
- Complete an alcohol education/treatment program, if required.
- Pass the driving skills and knowledge tests, if required.
- Pay your reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License" below.)
NOTE: You can pay your reinstatement fees online on the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration website. You'll need to enter your:
- Driver's license number.
- Birth date.
- Social Security number (SSN).
- VISA, MasterCard, or Discover credit/debit card information to pay the reinstatement fee (see “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License" below).
Depending on the circumstances of your suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted driver's license, which allows you to drive:
- To and from authorized locations.
- A vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed, if applicable to your situation.
For more information, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Arkansas DFA Office of Driver Control at (501) 682-1631.
Your AR driver license reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your suspension. If you were convicted in court, you may also need to pay additional court fines.
Below are general Arkansas DFA fees that may apply to your suspension/reinstatement.
- DWI/DUI and BAC test refusal suspension reinstatements: $150.
- Class D license: $20.
- Driving tests: $5 per test (up to $15 maximum).
For fees specific to your driver's license suspension and acceptable payment methods, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Arkansas DMV.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.