Renewing Your CDL in Alabama
Time to renew your commercial driver's license with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency? As long as you don't transport hazardous materials, renewing your CDL every 4 years is simple. Just go to your local Driver License Department office or online to renew. You will not be given a test unless you are upgrading your license to a different class or adding an endorsement. The fee charged depends on the class of license you are renewing. Additional fees may apply to the following list, depending on your county or if you chose to renew online:
- $66.25 to renew a Class A license
- $56.25 to renew a Class B license
- $36.25 to renew a Class C license
If you are upgrading your class, you will need to take a skills test and pay a $20 testing fee. This can only be done when renewing in person.
If you are transporting hazardous materials, you must take the following steps and pay the appropriate fees to renew your CDL:
- Apply for a Hazmat endorsement.
- Take the Hazmat test.
- Undergo a fingerprint and background check.
- Complete a Department of Transportation (DOT) Medical Examination Report (Form 649-F)
You can begin the application process for these checks online with the Transportation Security Administration (TSA).
New Federal Requirement
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the ALEA. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must, in addition to a completed self-certified application, provide the ALEA with a federal medical certificate.
- Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
- Driver License Division
- CDL Unit
- P.O. Box 1471
- Montgomery, AL 36102
Questions? Visit Alabama's FAQ page for detailed information.