DMV Point System in Alabama
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Driving may be fun, but it's not a game—points you earn on your driver record are far from an indication of winning.
In fact, you could lose a lot from acquiring too many points—including the right to drive. Read below to find out more about what's at stake and how the Alabama DMV point system works.
Alabama Point System Basics
When you think of your driving record, think of golf: The fewer points you have, the better you're doing.
If you rack up too many points within 2 years, the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your license as follows:
- 12 through 14 points: 60 days.
- 15 through 17 points: 90 days.
- 18 through 20 points: 120 days.
- 21 through 23 points: 180 days.
- 24 points or more: 365 days.
Commercial Driver's License (CDL) drivers may also lose their licenses if they're involved in too many “serious offense" tickets:
- 2 serious offenses within 3 years: 60 days.
- 3 serious offenses within 3 years: 120 days.
Find out more about what is considered a “serious offense" and how many points you can expect to get from some common moving violations below.
NOTE: If you're a commercial vehicle driver, you may face additional penalties for acquiring points on your commercial driver's license.
Remember: points on your driving record go beyond getting you in hot water with the state. Too many can also negatively impact your auto insurance rate.
Find out more about the effect your driving record has on your auto insurance—and how you could try to stop the rate from increasing.
AL Point System Schedule
The number of points attached to a moving violation in Alabama typically coordinates with how serious the offense is considered to be in the state.
Most penalties are worth 2 points. Some common examples include:
- Driving 1 to 25 MPH above the posted speed limit.
- Not using your turning signal.
- Driving in the wrong lane.
- Making an illegal turn.
Traffic tickets in Alabama range up to 6 points for the most severe offenses.
Some violations considered that serious include:
- Reckless driving.
- Most drinking and driving charges.
If you're unsure how many points your ticket is worth, check directly on your citation or call your local Alabama DPS office for more information.
“Serious Offense" Tickets in Alabama
The Alabama Department of Public Safety is much stricter about violations it considers serious for CDL drivers.
Racking up these citations will lead to having your commercial license suspended much more quickly than if you had committed less serious offenses.
The below list are some of the most common offenses the AL DPS categorizes as “serious":
- Driving 15 MPH or faster over the posted speed limit.
- Reckless driving.
- Any violation involved with a fatal accident.
- Following too closely.
- Erratic or improper lane changes.
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL.
Make sure you're not blindsided! Always know exactly how many points you've accumulated—and be prepared for what's coming—by knowing exactly what's on your Alabama driving record.
Reducing Points on your AL Record
Alabama is strict when it comes to driving record points—they're yours for life in the state.
However, points on your record will only be able to count toward a license suspension for 2 years after the conviction date. After that, they will remain on your record, but can no longer get you in trouble.
While points are immovable in AL, you MIGHT be able to have a ticket cleared by attending an Alabama driving school. Ask your local court for information on whether this is an option for you.
Citation dismissals are done on a case-by-case basis. Contact your local DPS office for more information.