Pay Traffic Ticket in Alabama
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Depending on where you received your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your ticket fine online, by phone, by mail, or in person.
For specific instructions on payment methods and deadlines, look on your AL traffic ticket or contact the appropriate
AL traffic court.
After you're issued a traffic ticket in Alabama, you either can pay the traffic ticket (which essentially means you're pleading guilty to the charge) or fight the ticket and work to prove your innocence.
Keep reading for information about each path.
Pay Your AL Traffic Ticket
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Schedule a hearing to plead your case.
- Represent yourself or hire a traffic ticket lawyer.
- Give up any possibilities of pleading to lesser charges/penalties.
- Experience no fines/penalties if found not guilty, except for related court costs and attorney fees.
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Pleading Guilty to Your AL Ticket
In Alabama, pleading "guilty" means paying your traffic ticket fine and any related court costs and fees, as well as accepting any applicable penalties.
When you plead "guilty":
- You can pay your traffic ticket fine using the methods set forth by your county traffic court.
- Your judge might allow you to plead to a lesser offense with lesser penalties or enroll in driving school.
- You'll incur points on your driving record which, depending on the violation and your current driving record, could lead to driver's license suspension or revocation.
- You could experience an increase in auto insurance rates.
Plead Guilty as a CDL Driver
CDL holders must notify their employers within 30 days after a conviction for a traffic ticket, and any CDL holder who receives an out-of-state citation must notify the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 30 days, too. This does not apply to parking violations.
Also, CDL holders face harsher penalties than regular drivers. For example, some offenses for certain violations bring lifetime CDL revocations.
For more information, refer to the Alabama Commercial Driver License Handbook.
How to Pay Your AL Traffic Ticket
Generally, you can pay your traffic ticket online, by mail, by phone, or in person.
When possible, paying your AL traffic ticket online probably is the most convenient option. Use the state's online payment system, Alapay, by finding the county in which you were ticketed, and following the instructions for paying online (including paying the convenience fee).
NOTE: You must have your traffic ticket so you can enter required information, such as your citation number. Check our section on lost AL traffic tickets if you've misplaced your traffic ticket.
Other Payment Methods
Typically, other payment methods include paying by mail, by phone, or in person; if your citation states you must appear in court, you're likely required to pay in person.
Check your traffic citation for the county in which you were ticketed; then the Alabama Traffic Service Center and follow the instructions regarding the payment methods that county offers.
Driving School & Ticket Dismissal in Alabama
Many drivers are allowed to enroll in a state-approved driving school for ticket dismissal. To request this option, you must appear in court on the date printed on your AL traffic ticket or the date you're given when you contact your court. Refer to our Ticket Dismissal section for more information.