DUI Attorneys in Alabama
If you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Alabama, you may want to seek a DUI attorney to represent you. Since a DUI could result in severe penalties like fines, court costs, a suspended driver's license, and even jail time, you could benefit in several ways by hiring a DUI lawyer.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
In addition to making an appearance in court on your behalf, an Alabama DUI attorney can also:
- Explain all applicable DUI laws in Alabama.
- Help you determine the best plea option based on your situation.
- Negotiate a lesser charge with the court for your DUI.
Depending on your case and the number of DUI convictions you have on your driving record, you could face severe fines and penalties in Alabama.
If an officer pulls you over for any traffic violation while you're driving drunk or under the influence of drugs in Alabama, you could be charged with a DUI.
To determine if you're intoxicated, an officer will have you take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. You will be charged with a DUI if your BAC level is:
- 0.08% or more.
- 0.04% or more in a commercial vehicle.
- 0.02% or more if you're younger than 21 years old.
NOTE: You can also be charged with a DUI for refusing to submit to a BAC test.
A DUI lawyer can offer his or her expertise in handling these types of charges. You may want to schedule consultations with multiple DUI attorneys to find the right one.
The Alabama court system and Department of Public Safety (DPS) will enforce penalties for a DUI offense based on your AL driving record and your level of intoxication. The DPS can suspend your license even if you are never convicted of a DUI in court.
Your penalties will be harsher depending on how many DUI violations you've committed previously.
- 1st offense:
- Up to 1 year in jail.
- Fine of $500 to $2,000
- DPS Driver's license suspension for 90 days.
- 2nd offense:
- 48 hours to 1 year in jail.
- Fine of $1,000 to $5,000.
- DPS Driver's license revocation for 12 months.
- 3rd offense (within 5 years):
- 60 days to 1 year in jail.
- Fine of $2,000 to $10,000
- DPS Driver's license revocation of 3 years.
Depending on your situation, you could also be required to:
- Pay additional charges.
- Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
- Complete community service.
- Complete a DUI treatment and education program.
An Alabama DUI lawyer may help you keep your charges and penalties at a minimum.
The costs associated with a DUI can be overwhelming. Not only can you be fined, you will also need to pay:
- Fees for an alcohol/drug treatment and/or evaluation program.
- Alabama driver's license reinstatement fees.
- To have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
- Higher car insurance rates.
An Alabama DUI attorney may be able to help you minimize these costs, or at the very least, explain these to you.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!