Suspended License in Alaska
Driver License Suspensions in Alaska
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can take away your privilege to drive for many reasons. If your license is suspended, revoked, or cancelled, you may NOT drive until you satisfy the requirements to have your license privileges reinstated.
About Your AK Suspended License
In addition to suspensions or revocations issued by a court, the Alaska DMV can administratively revoke or suspend your license for the following reasons regardless of any court actions or court findings:
- Accumulating too many points on your driving record.
- Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol.
- Drivers 21 years old and older: BAC 0.08%
- Commercial drivers: BAC 0.04%
- Drivers under 21 years old: Any negligible BAC.
- Chemical test refusal.
- Habitual offender (multiple violations of traffic laws).
- Using a fake driver's license to purchase alcohol (under 21 years old).
Types of AK License Suspensions
Depending on the type of violation, the Alaska DMV can issue either a license suspension or revocation.
- When your license is suspended, your privilege to drive is taken away temporarily and you can reinstate your license at the end of the suspension.
- When your license is revoked, it is taken away and you will need to apply for a new license once the revocation period is over.
The Alaska DMV will also cancel a driver's license due to medical/physical impairment, or failing a driving test that was recommended by an organization or individual in the interest of public safety.
AK Hearings and Appeals
NOTE: Your suspension will NOT be overturned because you need a license to drive to work, school, or for any other reason.
In Alaska, you may request a DMV hearing to contest your suspension, revocation, or cancellation.
To request an AK administrative hearing, you must complete a Request For Administrative Hearing (Form 447) and mail it the address listed on the form.
If you choose to hire a lawyer to assist you with your hearing, you must notify the hearing office as soon as possible so they can forward hearing information. The Alaska DMV will mail correspondence with the time and date of your hearing.
Once your hearing officer considers your testimony, the decision on your license suspension/revocation will be mailed to you. If the court does NOT decide in your favor, you can file an appeal with the superior court.
You may contact Anchorage Driver Licensing at (907) 269-3770 for more information.
Find an attorney who can help with your Alaska license suspension or revocation.
Reinstate Your Alaska Driver License
After serving your suspension or revocation period completely, you may reinstate your driving privileges and apply for a new AK driver's license.
To proceed, you must visit your local Alaska DMV office and:
- Complete an Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card (Form 478).
- Pass all required tests (e.g., written, vision, road).
- Submit proof of SR-22 insurance.
- Present proof of birth and identity, such as your:
- U.S. birth certificate (original, or certified copy).
- U.S. passport (current).
- Alaska ID card.
- For a complete list of acceptable identification, please visit the Alaska DMV website.
- Show completion of an alcohol treatment program, if required.
- Have an ignition interlock device installed, if required.
- Satisfy all other requirements as directed by the DMV.
- Pay all required fees to obtain your reinstated license.
- See “Alaska Suspended License Fees" section below.
Restricted or Temporary AK License
The Alaska DMV offers limited licenses to eligible applicants who need to drive to work while their regular licenses are suspended or revoked.
To find out about your eligibility and necessary forms for your specific situation, you'll need to contact the Alaska DMV directly.
If your AK driver's license was suspended for NOT having insurance, a first-time DUI suspension, or your second DUI conviction within 15 years, you may qualify for a limited license.
The state of Alaska provides application forms online for a these types of suspensions:
- Mandatory Insurance Suspension Non-Commercial Limited license Application (Form 507).
- Limited License Application for Driving Under the Influence or Admin Per Se Offenses (Form 404c).
Submit your completed form and applicable fees (see “Alaska Suspended License Fees" below) to your local DMV office.
You can also mail your documents and fees to the address listed on the form.
Alaska Suspended License Fees
To get your AK driver's license back, you must pay reinstatement and regular licensing fees. Here are some examples of common fees:
Driver License Fees
- Driver/motorcycle: $20.
- Instruction permit: $15.
- First suspension (non-DUI): $100.
- Second suspension (non-DUI): $250.
- First DUI suspension: $200.
- First DUI plus another suspension: $250.
- Second DUI suspension: $500.
NOTE: These fees are separate from any court-related fees related to a criminal conviction.
- Alcohol restricted license or ID: $50 (Real ID: $70).
- Limited-license application: $100.
- Driving record: $10.
- Road/driving test: $15.
- Temporary driver license: $5.
Accepted Payment Options
The Alaska DMV accepts VISA or MasterCard credit/debit cards, personal check, or money order.