Suspended CDL in Alaska
Join 18,882 Americans who searched DMV.ORG for commercial insurance rates:
Suspended Commercial Driver Licenses in Alaska
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can suspend or revoke a commercial driver license (CDL) for a number of reasons. When the state issues you a license suspension, your AK driving record will reflect a specific action against your license.
If you're caught driving while your CDL license is revoked, suspended, denied, or cancelled, your vehicle may be impounded.
About Your Alaska CDL Suspension
Since your CDL is tied directly to your regular AK driver license, a suspension of your regular license will result also in a suspension of your commercial driver's license in Alaska.
Here are some common offenses that result in CDL suspensions:
- DUI (driving under the influence).
- Driving without a CDL in your possession.
- Following too closely or reckless driving.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Violation of out-of-service orders.
- Railroad-highway grade crossing violations.
- Serious traffic violations (in both your commercial vehicle and non-commercial vehicle).
NOTE: If you're convicted of a serious traffic offense while transporting hazardous materials (or passengers), you'll be subject to longer disqualification periods and harsher penalties.
CDL Suspension Periods in AK
The terms and length of your CDL suspension will depend on the type of conviction and the status of your Alaska driving record. Below are general details about some common offenses and suspension periods.
Make sure your CDL is in good standing. Order your Alaska driving record and check your license status today.
Violation of Out-of-Service Orders
Commercial drivers must adhere to a specific law that limits the number of hours they are allowed to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
If you operate a CMV while you're supposed to be out of service, the Alaska DMV will suspend your CDL privileges.
- 1st offense: 90 days – 1 year.
- 2nd offense within 10 years: 1 – 5 years.
- 3rd offense within 10 years: minimum 3 – 5 years.
Hazmat out-of-service order violations are more severe.
- 1st offense: 180 days – 2 years.
- 2nd offense: 3 – 5 years.
- 3rd offense: 3 – 5 years.
These violations do NOT affect your regular driver's license, unless otherwise ordered by the AK DMV.
There are a number of serious offenses you can violate while operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) or your personal vehicle. These offenses include:
- Driving 15 mph above the speed limit.
- Following too closely.
- Operating a CMV without your AK CDL in your possession, or before getting a CDL.
- Operating a CMV in violation of CDL restrictions or endorsements.
While your first offense usually does not result in a suspension, unless otherwise determined by the AK DMV, subsequent offenses can result in the following:
- 2nd serious offense in a 3-year period: 60-day suspension.
- 3rd serious offense in a 3-year period: 120-day suspension.
Even after your CDL is suspended, your ruling may still allow you to operate a non-commercial vehicle.
While major violations that occur while driving a CMV or your personal vehicle affect both your CDL and regular license, the suspension periods for your CDL and regular driver's license will vary. Examples of major offenses are:
- DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated).
- Refusal to submit to breath/chemical testing.
- Fleeing an accident.
- Operating a vehicle with a suspended license.
While you may face other court- and federally-imposed penalties, the AK DMV may suspend your license for the following periods:
- 1st major offense: 1-year suspension.
- 2nd major offense: Lifetime disqualification.
Railroad-Highway Crossing Violations
If you violate the commercial guidelines for railroad-highway intersections while operating a CMV, your CDL will be suspended for a specific period:
- 1st offense: 60-day suspension of CDL.
- 2nd offense in 3 years: 120-day suspension of CDL.
- 3rd offense in 3 years: 1-year suspension of CDL.
These violations do NOT affect your regular AK driver's license unless otherwise ordered by the AK DMV.
Medical Card Suspension
Some commercial drivers are required to submit a medical card to the DMV to operate their commercial vehicle. If the AK DMV does not have your medical card on file, your Alaska commercial driver's license will be suspended.
Upon receiving a warning letter, you have 30 – 60 days to submit your medical card. Otherwise, your CDL will be suspended.
Once your CDL is suspended due to not having a current medical card, you have 1 year to reinstate your CDL without re-taking written tests, and exactly 5 years to obtain another CDL without re-taking the driving tests.
Alaska CDL Suspension Hearings and Appeals
The state of Alaska offers administrative hearings, which allows an individual to contest a driver's license suspension. If you wish to contest your suspension, revocation, or cancellation, you may request a hearing with the court to state your case. You will receive a notice of the date and time of your hearing.
Furthermore, you may hire a lawyer to assist you during your hearing. You must notify the hearing office so information regarding your hearing is forwarded to your lawyer.
For more information, please contact Anchorage Driver Licensing at (907) 269-3770 and visit the DMV's online Administrative Hearing section.
AK CDL Reinstatement
Generally, to reinstate your Alaska commercial driver's license, you may need to complete some or all of the following:
- Re-apply for your AK CDL.
- Pass a written exam and/or driving skills exam.
- Provide proof of completion for any additional requirements as set forth by the DMV and/or Alaska courts pertaining to your suspension.
- This could include extra fees, completion of a traffic or alcohol course, etc.
You'll also need to pay the $100 reinstatement fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles. For details specific to your case, please contact your local Alaska DMV branch.
Restricted CDL Licenses
The Alaska DMV does NOT offer restricted or temporary CDL licenses to commercial drivers with CDL suspensions.
In some suspension cases, the DMV issues limited, non-commercial driver licenses.
To find out if you're eligible and obtain further instructions, contact your local Alaska DMV office.