Traffic Safety Laws in Alaska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Licensed or endorsed riders under 18 years old are required to wear a motorcycle helmet. Any passenger, no matter the age, must wear a helmet. Anyone with a motorcycle instruction permit or those taking the test must also wear a helmet.
No mandatory helmet law exists.
Cell Phone Laws
There are no driving restrictions regarding the use of cell phones. However, it is illegal to text while driving. This applies to all ages.
You must use your headlights:
- Between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise.
- When weather conditions limit visibility to less than 1,000 feet.
- When driving on roads that require headlight use (Seward Highway).
Child Car Seat
Depending on certain age and weight limitations, carseats are mandatory for children while riding in a car.
- Infants up to 1 years old AND under 20 lbs. must ride in a rear-facing carseat.
- Children between 1 and 5 years old, who weigh more than 20 lbs., must ride in a federally-approved carseat.
- Children over 4 up to 8 years old, who are less than 57 inches tall and weigh between 20 and 65 lbs., must be in a booster seat that is secured by a seatbelt.
- Once a child exceeds the size requirements, they must ride in a seatbelt.
AK laws require anyone in a motor vehicle to wear a safety belt. Drivers are held responsible for ensuring all passengers under 16 years old are wearing their safety belt.
Unattended Kids or Pets in Cars
If you feel a child or pet has been left unattended in a car for an inordinate amount of time, especially during extreme weather conditions, dial 911 and remain at the vehicle in question until authorities arrive.
Reporting Drunk and/or Unsafe Drivers
Alaska law enforcement authorities strongly advocate the nation's Report Every Drunk Driver Immediately (REDDI) program. If you suspect someone should not be operating a vehicle, dial 911 immediately. In such instances it is better to err on the side of caution.