Replacing a Lost CDL in Alaska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
CDL drivers located in-state must apply for a replacement commercial driver's license in person with their local Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office; drivers located out-of-state can apply for temporary CDLs by mail or online.
Remember, it's illegal to operate your commercial truck without your CDL. For identification protection purposes, consider reporting your lost CDL to local and state law enforcement agencies.
For further details, see below.
In-State Replacement CDL in AK
If you're currently in Alaska, you must apply for a duplicate commercial driver's license with your local Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
You will complete the Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit, or Identification Card (Form 478) and:
- Provide 2 documents of state-approved identification.
- Pass the vision test.
- Have your picture taken.
- Pay the $15 fee.
NOTE: You can renew your CDL 1 year before the expiration date. Refer to Renewing Your CDL in Alaska for more details.
AK Out-of-State Temporary CDL
If you're currently outside Alaska, you can request a duplicate CDL by fax, mail, or online. Either process will provide you with a temporary CDL that is valid for 30 days; also, it can't extend beyond 30 days of expiration.
Once you return to Alaska, you must visit your local DMV office and apply for a replacement commercial driver license.
By Mail & Fax
Complete the Request for Out-of-State Temporary License (Form 481) and return it, along with the $5 fee for temporary CDLs, to the AK DMV by:
- FAX: (907) 465-5509.
- State of Alaska
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- P.O. Box 110221
- Juneau, AK 99811
Currently, you can pay for your temporary CDL using a credit card, money order, or cashier's check. Money orders and cashier's checks must be made payable to “State of Alaska."
If you have access to the internet and email, you can request a temporary CDL online.
Be prepared to:
- Aside from your name, be prepared to provide identifying information such as your date of birth, driver's license number, and Social Security number.
- Pay with a major credit card, unless otherwise instructed.
Once you complete the process, you'll receive further information about the delivery of your temporary commercial driver's license.