Green Vehicle Laws and Regulations in Alaska

Alaska does not have many vehicle laws specific to green driving. In fact, it no longer tests emissions for the purposes of first-time vehicle registration and registration renewal. However, you should keep pace with the latest legislation by reviewing this page, consulting the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and periodically referring to the Alternative Fuels Data Center.

We can also help if you’re looking for general traffic laws by connecting you to the Alaska Driver Manual and vehicle code. Or if you’re hunting down ways to save money, check out our page on green driver incentives.

Alaska Vehicle Registration and Emissions Testing

Alaska has loosened up on its emissions testing requirement as recently as March of 2012. Yet, although you can skip the smog test, you must still register passenger vehicles, trucks, buses, and vans no matter how fuel-efficiently they run. Whether you drive an electric car (EV), hybrid, or an alternative fuel vehicle (AFV), be sure you maintain valid registration to avoid getting pulled over and ticketed.

To keep up with the latest on emissions testing, refer to our page on Alaska smog checks.

Regulations for Fuel-Efficient Low-Speed Vehicles

Some energy-efficient vehicles fall under Alaska’s definition of low-speed vehicle, and therefore must abide by certain regulations. For example, you must register your low-speed vehicle and pay the biennial registration fee just as you would for any other passenger car. Fees vary according to your vehicle’s weight.

Of course, you must also follow AK's general traffic laws, regardless of your vehicle's fuel economy. However, special road rules apply for those operating a low-speed vehicle:

  • You may not drive your low-speed vehicle on any Alaska highways that have a maximum speed limit greater than 35 miles per hour (mph)*.
  • You may cross a highway intersection with a max speed limit that exceeds 35 mph.

*Within certain municipalities that have a population of less than 35,000 or aren’t connected to Anchorage or Fairbanks by road, you can operate such vehicles on a highway with a posted speed limit of 45 mph.

For specifics on the operation restrictions for low-speed vehicles, consult Alaska Statutes 28.35.261.

Alaska Auto Insurance Requirements

In order to operate your fuel-efficient vehicle on Alaska's public roads, you must insure it in line with AK's auto insurance requirements. However, some car insurance companies give the drivers of green vehicles a break on insurance rates. Check out our page on green driver incentives for more on ways to save some green for going green.

Keep in mind that auto insurance discounts vary by provider. Shop around online to compare rates and find the car insurance company that gives you the most for your money.

DMV.org BBB Business Review