Drivers Permits in Alaska
COVID-19 Effects on Licensing Services
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, state DMVs nationwide have closed office locations, extended license and registration expiration dates, and/or limited the transactions they are processing. Residents are strongly encouraged to use the state's online services. Follow the DMV's updates for the latest information.
Alaska Learner's Permits
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all new teen drivers to follow specific guidelines when applying for their first driver's license.
The first step is getting your learner's permit. During this process, you'll gain the road experience and knowledge you need to become a safe, responsible driver.
This page outlines everything you need to know about AK learner's permits and the next steps in obtaining your Alaska driver's license.
Alaska REAL ID Driver's License
The Alaska DMV has begun issuing federally compliant REAL ID driver’s licenses. As of May 3, 2023, the REAL ID will function as federal identification for domestic travel and entry into federal and military buildings—a standard license will not after this date.
You have the choice to apply for a standard license or upgrade to a REAL ID. Details are outlined below.
Applying for an AK Learner's Permit
You must be at least 14 years old to apply for an instructional permit/learner's permit in Alaska. To start the process, you'll need to visit your local Alaska DMV office and:
- Submit a completed Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card (Form 478).
- Have your parent or guardian complete the Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor (Form 433).
- Show proof of your legal name, birth date, Alaska residency, and Social Security number.
- If you eventually want a REAL ID license, you can choose to offer REAL ID-compliant documents now, or you can wait to upgrade when you get your provisional license. The DMV offers lists of acceptable proofs for both REAL IDs and non-compliant permits.
- The agent may be able to verify your SSN electronically, but bring your documents just in case.
- Pass your vision test.
- Pass the written Alaska permit test.
- Pay the $15 learner's permit fee (valid for 2 years).
You must hold your Alaska learner's permit for 6 months before you can move on to your provisional driver's license.
Taking the Written Permit Test in Alaska
If you've never been licensed in Alaska, you must pass a written permit test before you will be issued an learner's permit.
You will need to know all about traffic laws, safe-driving practices, and highway signs to pass. To get ready for your AK written permit test, you can always refer to the Alaska Driver Manual or you can study with the basic practice test provided by the DMV. If you want to ensure passing on your first attempt, we suggest using a comprehensive online practice test from our certified partner.
If you fail the Alaska permit test, you may retake it the following day.
Behind-the-Wheel Driving Requirements in Alaska
If you're younger than 18 years old, you must show proof that you have completed at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice before you will be issued a driver's license. Of those, 10 hours must be completed during the night and/or in bad weather.
Once you fulfill this behind-the-wheel requirement and have held your Alaska learner's permit for 6 months, you're eligible to apply for your intermediate restricted driver's license.
Your supervised driving practice is crucial to developing the driving skills and confidence necessary to pass your road test and start driving by yourself.
Replace Your Lost Alaska Learner's Permit
If you lose your Alaska driver's permit, you will need to apply for a duplicate in person at any AK DMV office. You will need:
- Proof of your identity.
- Payment for the $15 duplicate learner's permit fee.
For more information, see our Replacing a Lost License in Alaska page.
Next Step: Your Alaska Provisional License
To apply for your provisional driver's license, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- Submit proof that you've completed 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours in challenging conditions, such as night driving or bad weather.
- Have parental consent.
Visit our page about Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Alaska for details about the rest of your licensing process and information about any other documents, forms, and fees you'll need to submit to the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to get your first driver's license.