Suspended License in Wyoming
Despite Wyoming's perceived leniency when it comes to license suspensions, it is not like you can simply wreak havoc on the roadways and expect to retain the privilege of driving. There is a limit to everything, and if you are convicted of more serious offenses like felonies, DWUIs, or reckless driving, you will ultimately face having your license revoked.
Most suspensions for moving violations last only 90 days. This is not an endless amount of time considering some states will give you the boot for up to a year, especially if you turn into a habitual offender.
Wyoming tends to stagger the 90 days, rarely relying on the full-year suspension route unless the violation is of the serious sort. Thus, if you surpass the three moving violations allotted in a 12-month period and lose your license the first time, you will get the 90 days. With each ensuing violation within that 12-month span, you face the consequence of another 90-day suspension.
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your driver’s license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver’s license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what’s on record at the DOT. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
The basic difference between a suspension and a revocation is that after a suspension, you can apply to have your driver's license reinstated. But when a license is revoked, it is nullified. Kaput. Gone.
When a revocation period concludes, you will need to go through the entire examination process again from scratch. Of course, it is not just that easy. First you need to make sure you can even apply for another license, and that is ultimately in the hands of the state. The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) will conduct an extensive investigation of your driving history and hand down a decision on whether or not you can apply for another license.
There are only a few ways in Wyoming to have your license revoked:
- Third conviction for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DWUI)
- Third offense of reckless driving
- A conviction for leaving the scene of an accident
- Vehicular homicide
- Using a vehicle in any way to commit a felony
A mandatory suspension has a beginning date and an ending date. An indefinite suspension does not end and will never terminate unless you take some sort of action (i.e. usually pay a fine). If you resolve the matter before the start date of the indefinite suspension, it will be canceled and erased from your driving history. Violations resulting in an indefinite suspension include:
- Non-Resident Violator Compact Suspension―This occurs when you receive a citation in another state that is part of the Driver Compact and fail to pay the imposed penalty. Wyoming is part of the compact. If another state reports an unpaid infraction, your license will automatically go into indefinite suspension until the ticket is paid and you provide verification via court receipts.
- Compulsory Insurance Suspension―If you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and cannot show proof of insurance there or in court, you will forfeit your license. The only way to restore your driving privileges is by obtaining insurance and having your carrier file an SR-22 with the state.
- Uninsured Accident Suspension―If you caused an accident and failed to reveal any type of insurance, your license is sent to purgatory until you take the proper steps to illustrate that you did in fact have suitable coverage at the time of the crash. If you were not covered, the issue becomes more serious. Still, you can lessen your troubles by providing the state with a notarized memorandum from all parties involved in the accident releasing you of any liabilities.
An SR-22 effectively keeps the state informed that you have insurance. Most likely, if you are being asked to have your insurance company provide an SR-22, you have managed to get into some sort of legal pickle like driving without insurance or, worse, causing an accident and not being able to exhibit valid coverage.
In Wyoming, you will usually need to have one of these forms filed to restore driving privileges after a suspension or revocation. It must be maintained for three years. If for some reason you lose or have your insurance canceled, it will be reported to the state and you will face yet more suspension time.
There are essentially 12 ways to lose your license for an extended interval in Wyoming. Some of these entail racking up multiple infractions before the outcome is a suspension. Other violations only necessitate committing a single breach before the state has you walking or taking the bus.
Meticulous explanations of suspension or revocation penalties for the transgressions listed below can be found in Wyoming's Driver License Manual beginning on page 20. You'll also find the procedures (if any) required for reinstatement.
- Administrative Per Se
- Compulsory Insurance
- Driving Under Suspension
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Moving Violation Suspension
- Non-Resident Violator
- Reckless Driving
- Transporting Liquor to a Minor
- Uninsured Accident
- Youthful Driver Detectable Alcohol
If you have your license suspended, there are extenuating circumstances that might allow you to apply for a probationary license. Generally, if you show evidence that you must drive to and from work or face losing your job, the department will review your case and in many instances approve a license.
You must first request a probationary license in writing and submit a $15 fee for the initial appraisal process. If your conditions are accepted, then application forms will be mailed to you. At that time, you have 35 days to fill out the application, have an SR-22 filed if necessary, and return everything to the department with a $25 probationary license fee.
If your license has been revoked, you might as well forget about this concession. There are certain violations, including the infractions that cause revocation, that prohibit one from obtaining a probationary license. Those with DWUI violations may be asked to have an alcohol evaluation provided via an authorized counselor.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.