Suspended CDL in Wyoming
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Suspension in Illinois
The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) follows federal guidelines to govern commercial drivers in the state. A number of offenses can lead to the suspension of your commercial driving privileges (CDL disqualification) in WY.
Read below to learn about why your CDL may be disqualified and what you may need to do to reinstate your Wyoming CDL.
In many cases, CDLs can be suspended more easily than standard licenses. This is because commercial drivers are held to very high standards.
If you hold a CDL, you can have your license suspended for any of the violation types:
- Major offenses.
- Serious traffic violations.
- Railroad highway grade crossing offenses.
- Out-of-service order violations.
- Violations committed in a non-commercial vehicle.
Major offenses in Wyoming can lead to CDL disqualification, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving at the time (commercial motor vehicle or non-CMV). Wyoming and federal law lists the following as major offenses:
- Alcohol- and drug-related offenses. Examples include:
- Driving with a BAC over the legal limit for a CDL (0.04%).
- Refusing a blood or breath test upon law enforcement request.
- Causing a death due to negligent CMV operation.
- Leaving an accident scene.
- Using the commercial vehicle to commit a felony*.
- Operating a CMV when you have a suspended, disqualified, or revoked CDL*.
If you commit a major offense, you’ll lose your commercial driving privileges as follows:
- 1st offense: 1 year.
- 3 years if carrying hazardous materials in your CMV.
- 2nd offense: Lifetime disqualification.
- DUI offenders may be eligible for CDL reinstatement after 10 years, pending the completion of a state-approved alcohol program.
* Your CDL will be disqualified for life if you are convicted of a felony involving the use of a CMV and the transportation of controlled substances.
Serious Traffic Violations
CDL drivers in Wyoming will lose their driving privileges for multiple serious traffic violations, which include:
- Speeding excessively or driving recklessly.
- Changing lanes improperly.
- Following another vehicle too closely.
- Violating any motor vehicle traffic control law and causing a fatality as a result.
- Parking violations do not apply.
- Operating a CMV without a CDL, without a commercial license on your person, or without the proper commercial endorsements.
Your CDL will be disqualified after your:
- 2nd violation within 3 years: 60 days.
- 3rd violation within 3 years: 120 days.
Railroad Crossing Violations
Improper crossing of a railroad in a CDL includes:
- Failing to slow your commercial vehicle and check to ensure the tracks are clear.
- Failing to make stops when required.
- Driving across the tracks when the CMV doesn’t have enough space or undercarriage clearance.
Railroad crossing violations will result in a CDL disqualification as follows:
- 1st violation: Minimum of 60 days.
- 2nd violation within 3 years: Minimum of 120 days.
- 3rd violation* within 3 years: Minimum of 1 year.
* Any subsequent violations will result in the same penalty of 1 year.
If you violate an out-of-service order, you face the following disqualification terms:
- 1st violation: 90 days.
- 2nd violation: 1 year.
- 3rd violation: 3 years.
Violations in Non-Commercial Vehicles
You will face CDL disqualification in Wyoming if your basic driver’s license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled due to a conviction of a traffic violation not involving a parking violation.
Additionally, your CDL will be disqualified if you lose your driver’s license privileges due to a felony involving operating a non-CMV and alcohol or controlled substances.
Check Your License Status
If you are concerned about your CDL status, or even if you just want to view your driving history, you can check your Wyoming driving record.
Your driving record is an account of your driving history (including any tickets, accidents, suspensions, points, etc.). As a commercial driver, it’s extremely important to make sure your CDL is and will stay valid.
It is illegal for CDL holders in Wyoming to have any amount of alcohol in your blood, breath, or urine while operating a commercial vehicle.
If you’re given a test for BAC and are found to have ANY detectable amount, even if below the legal limit, you will be given an out-of-service order for 24 hours.
Additionally, your Wyoming CDL will be disqualified if you:
- Test for blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) over the CDL legal limit of 0.04%, regardless of a criminal court conviction.
- Refuse to test for BAC.
- Are criminally convicted for DUI.
To reinstate your CDL in Wyoming, you must wait until the term of your disqualification has expired.
You are required to obtain a commercial learner’s permit after a CDL disqualification. Read our page to learn more about applying for a commercial driver’s license.
You may have to fulfill additional requirements set forth by the court or WYDOT.
Contact your local DMV office if you’re unsure of your reinstatement requirements.
You may be subject to a reinstatement fee as part of your reinstatement requirements.
To learn more about your reinstatement fee, you can contact the DOT customer service center at (307) 777-4810.
NOTE: Reinstatement fees are separate from any court fines or other costs that may be associated with your disqualifying offense.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!