License Plates & Placards in Wyoming
Continue reading this page to learn more about license plates from the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT).
NOTE: Learn more about disabled parking plates and placards on our Disability Placards & Plates page.
You will be required to register any vehicle that will operate on Wyoming’s highways.
The state requires 2 license plates for most cars, trucks, and vans. Vehicles such as motorcycles and trailers only need 1 license plate. Your county treasurer will issue the correct number of plates for your vehicle.
You are also required to:
- Have a validation sticker on your rear plate.
- Carry a copy of your registration and be able to produce it on demand at the request of law enforcement.
In addition to your standard plates, the WY DOT offers a range of special license plates and personalized plates.
Disabled parking plates are also available to those with a qualifying disability. Visit our disability plates page for application information, parking rules, and other details.
A licensed dealer can issue you temporary tags, which are valid for up to 45 days and allow you to operate your vehicle while waiting for your WY license plates.
If you purchase a vehicle in a private sale, you have 30 days to register your vehicle. You can operate it while waiting for your plates as long as you have transferred the vehicle title.
To apply for license plates in Wyoming, you’ll just need to register your vehicle.
You must register:
- Within 45 days when you purchase a vehicle from a dealer.
- Within 30 days when you purchase a vehicle in a private sale.
- As soon as you become a Wyoming resident.
Complete information is available on our Wyoming vehicle registration page.
To renew your Wyoming license plates, you must renew your vehicle registration.
You should receive a renewal notice from your local county treasurer’s office before your validation sticker expires.
Visit our registration renewal page for more details.
If your license plate or validation stickers are lost, stolen, or mutilated, you can order duplicates from your county treasurer’s office.
You may have to complete a Application for New or Duplicate License Plates (Form MV-405) and document the loss, theft, or mutilation, and be prepared pay a replacement fee of $8. If you wish to keep the same plate numbers and letter you will have to pay $30 for the license plate to be duplicated..
For more information, contact your WY county treasurer’s office.
When you sell a vehicle, the registration will immediately expire and you will have to remove the license plates from the vehicle.
You can either:
- Transfer the plates to a new vehicle within 45 days of purchase.
- Surrender the plates. Contact your county treasurer’s office for more information.
To transfer your license plates, you must:
- Register the new vehicle and indicate that you are transferring plates.
- Pay the registration fee for your new vehicle. You will be credited for the unused portion of your old registration.
NOTE: If you are transferring the car to a family member or to a joint owner, you can use the original plates until they expire, then surrender them for new plates.
License plates are issued by Wyoming county treasurer’s offices and are part of your vehicle registration.
Contact your local WY DOT office for fee information, as this may vary depending on your county.
The Wyoming DOT offers an online license plate search for available personalized license plate letter and number combinations.
You CANNOT however, look up license plates or search for the registered owner of a vehicle by license plate number.
If you have a concern about a vehicle, contact your local law enforcement. The police can run a license plate and contact the vehicle owner.
For more information about a vehicle’s history, you can use its vehicle identification number (VIN) to order a vehicle history report.
Wyoming offers a multitude of specialty plates. Most of these plates advertise some type of individual service, whether to the military or an emergency squadron. But you can also get them for old cars and even as a way to connect with others on a scratchy radio signal.
Generally, you will need to apply for these plates directly through your local county treasurer's office. But in some cases you will need to go through the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) first. It is best to check the applications closely to make sure you send your fees and forms to the right place.
Pioneer License Plate Application (Form MV-146) to apply for these plates:
- The vehicle must be at least 25 years old.
- The vehicle must be used strictly for antique exhibitions, shows, parades, and related activities. (Trips to have the vehicle repaired are permissible.)
- You must have been a Wyoming resident for at least 1 year.
There is a $10 fee.
Military Plate Application (Form MV-100) Obviously, you will need proof of service and have to meet certain qualifications to obtain these plates. Available designs include:
- Former Prisoner of War
- Disabled Veteran
- Army National Guard
- Air National Guard
- Pearl Harbor Survivor
- Purple Heart Recipient
Radio Amateur Plate Application (Form MV-403). Before the Internet, there was ham radio. Those enthusiasts surfing the AM airwaves armed with Morse code, the hope of contact, and an FCC radio license can apply to have their call letters etched onto their vehicle plates. The fee is $30, and a copy of the FCC license must be enclosed with the application.
Firefighter/EMT Plate Application (Form MV-140). You will need to provide evidence of eligibility in written form, preferably on station letterhead, in order to receive these plates. A fee of $30 is required. WYDOT will process the application and send the plates to your county treasurer's office.
In the state of Wyoming, prestige plates equal personalized plates. This type of plate is handled through Motor Vehicle Services at the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT). But the physical metal rectangle that attaches to the vehicle is still issued through the local county treasurer's office.
Prestige plates are allowed on just about every type of registered vehicle including SUVs, motor homes, motorcycles, and even in some cases, ATVs.
There are a few limitations and restrictions that come with this plate:
- Plates can only contain 4 characters; letters or numerals or a combination of letters and numerals.
- Only capital letters and Arabic numbers are allowed.
- Applicants cannot use any other symbols or punctuation marks.
- The department will not accept any word or phrase it deems vulgar or obscene.
The first step to obtaining the plates is figuring out exactly what you want to say. You will need to devise a primary choice and two secondary choices. These secondary choices are needed in case the department denies the first choice or it is taken by another driver.
The next thing to do is complete the plate Application for Prestige Plates (Form MV-416) and send it to:
- Attention: Motor Vehicle Services
- 5300 Bishop Blvd
- Cheyenne, WY 82009
Or, if you prefer, save time and submit an online application.
The fee for the license plates is $30, and it usually takes about a month for the plates to arrive at the local treasurer's office. For more information or to find out if a word or phrase is available before you submit the application, contact the division at (307) 777-4709.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.