Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Drivers with Disabilities in Wyoming

    Summary: Disability Plates & Placards in Wyoming

    People with disabilities in Wyoming can apply for handicapped parking permits from WYDOT. Both placards and license plates are available to those who qualify. You can apply either by mail or in person at your local office, and the renewal process is very similar. You can also request a replacement if your disabled parking permit is lost, stolen, or damaged.

    Read below for details about disability placards and plates in Wyoming.

    Types of WY Disability Permits

    If you have a disability, you may be eligible for disability placard or license plate from the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT).

    The state offers several options for handicapped parking placards and plates:

    • Temporary disability placards.
    • Permanent disability placards.
    • Permanent disability license plates.
      • You must have a vehicle registered in your name.
    • Disabled veteran plates.
      • You must have a vehicle registered in your name.

    If you are traveling to Wyoming from another state, you do not need a WY handicap placard or plate, as the state recognizes disability placards and plates from all other states.

    NOTE: You must be the driver or passenger of the vehicle for your disability placard or plate to be used. It is against the law to use someone else’s placard or plate.

    Apply for Disability Parking in Wyoming

    You can apply for a handicapped parking placard or license plate from WYDOT:

    • By mail.
      OR
    • In person.

    Disability placards are free. License plates are charged the standard registration fee, which you will pay when you pick up your license plate at your county treasurer’s office.

    To apply for a handicap placard or license plate in Wyoming, you will need:

    Submit your application either:

    • By mail to:
      WYDOT - Driver Services
      Medical Compliance and Review
      5300 Bishop Blvd
      Cheyenne, WY 82009
      OR
    • In person at a WY driver exam office.

    If you order a handicap license plate, you will then need to take the following to your county treasurer’s office, where the license plate will be issued:

    • The copy of your application given to you by WYDOT.
    • Payment for the registration fee for your vehicle.

    Disabled Veteran Plate Applications

    To apply for a disabled veteran plate, you need:

    Disabled veteran plates are exempt from registration fees.

    Submit your application by mail to your local Wyoming county treasurer’s office.

    Renew a Handicap Placard or Plate

    A temporary WY disability placard is valid for up to 6 months. You can renew it 1 time only by submitting a new application and medical certification.

    A permanent disability placard is valid for 10 years. Before it expires, you will receive a letter and renewal application from the WYDOT by mail. To renew your permanent placard:

    To renew your disability license plates or disabled veteran plates, simply renew your car registration.

    Replace Disability Permits in WY

    If your Wyoming handicap parking placard or license plate is lost, stolen, or damaged, contact the WY Department of Transportation (WYDOT) for information about requesting a replacement.

    You can also see our WY license plate page for information about replacing lost license plates.

    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.