Car Insurance in Wyoming
Wyoming Car Insurance
In order to register your vehicle in Wyoming, you must be able to prove financial responsibility for damages in the event of an accident.
The easiest and common way to fulfill this legal requirement is to purchase the minimum amounts of liability car insurance.
Car Insurance Requirements in Wyoming
Liability car insurance helps you cover the costs of bodily injury or property damage to the other parties in an accident you caused.
Wyoming requires the following minimum amounts of liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death, per accident.
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death for multiple people in an accident.
- $20,000 for property damage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
All Wyoming liability car insurance policies are required to include uninsured motorist coverage to protect you from the costs incurred in:
- An accident with a driver who doesn’t have auto insurance.
- A hit-and-run accident.
Uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury has the same minimums as those in your liability coverage (see above).
Property damage is not covered by this insurance.
NOTE: You can opt out of uninsured motorist coverage; however, to do so, you must reject the coverage in writing.
When you get into an accident, you won’t want to be left wondering whether your car insurance coverage will adequately cover your costs. Electing to purchase additional types of coverage can save you thousands of dollars in the unfortunate event of an accident.
Optional coverage types include:
- Collision – Pays for the damages to your vehicle after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
- Comprehensive – Pays for non-accident-related damages to your car, such as fire, animal collisions, and theft.
- Medical expense – This will help you pay for your medical or funeral costs if you or your passengers were injured or killed in an accident. Coverage applies even if you were at fault.
- Rental reimbursement.
Car Insurance Violations
It is illegal to drive without the minimum car insurance in Wyoming. Law enforcement officers have the right to request your proof of insurance at any time.
If you can’t provide proof of financial responsibility at the time of the request, you’ll be given 7 days to provide it.
Failure to provide proof of insurance in the given timeframe may result in:
- A fine of up to $750.
- Up to 6 months of jail time.
If your driver’s license was suspended for involvement in an accident while uninsured, you’ll be required to obtain an SR-22, in addition to your other reinstatement requirements.
Often called “SR-22 insurance,” this is not actually car insurance, but a guarantee that you’ll maintain the minimum insurance for 3 years. If you neglect to maintain your SR-22, you’ll get another license suspension.
Your insurance company has the right to cancel your Wyoming car insurance policy at any time within the first 60 days of your coverage for any reason.
Once your policy has been in effect for more than 60 days, it can only be canceled for the following reasons:
- Nonpayment of premium.
- An insured person on the policy has had their license or registration suspended.
- The insured lied on the application (committed fraud).
- Any other reasons deemed appropriate by the insurance commissioner upon a hearing.
Your insurance company must notify you at least 20 days before the effective date of cancellation.
If your policy is canceled for nonpayment of premium, the insurance company is only required to give you notice 10 days prior to the effective cancellation date.
If your insurance company refuses to renew your policy, you must be given written notice at least 30 days prior to your expiration date, unless the nonrenewal is for:
- Nonpayment of premium for the expiring policy.
- Nonpayment of premium for renewal.
Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan
Insurance companies are hesitant to take on the risk of drivers who have poor driving records or a history of multiple claims.
If you have been unable to find insurance on the standard market because of your status as a “high-risk driver", Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan.
To apply, speak to any insurance agent licensed in Wyoming.
Questions and Concerns
Car insurance can get confusing. If you need assistance understanding the terms of your insurance policy, you can call the Wyoming Department of Insurance at (307) 777-7401 or (800) 438-5768.
Filing a Complaint
If you have an issue that you have been unable to resolve with your insurance provider, the Department will assist you. To request help with your complaint, you can take any of the following steps:
- Complete the online request.
- Download and complete the Consumer Request for Assistance.
- Mail or fax the form to the address/number on the form.
- Submit your complaint through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) website.
Insurance fraud costs insurance companies a significant amount of money, and those companies pass the costs down to their consumers.
If you suspect fraud, it’s important to report it. You can do so by visiting the NAIC website and submitting a complaint online.
Determining Your WY Car Insurance Rates
When shopping around for car insurance quotes in Wyoming, remember that insurance companies factor in the following when setting your rates:
- Your driving record.
- Your car’s:
- Your age and gender.
- The primary location your car is kept.
- The main uses for your car.
- How much coverage you get.
- Your deductibles.
- Higher deductibles equal lower premiums.
Car Insurance Discounts
In order to most effectively comparison-shop for auto insurance, it’s smart to ask about possible car insurance discounts in Wyoming. Common discounts include:
- Defensive driving.
- Good driving.
- Good student.
- Vehicle safety.
Remember, your driving history is the biggest determiner of your premiums. Drive safely and maintain a good driving record to get the cheapest possible Wyoming car insurance rates.
Most Stolen Cars in Wyoming
Owning a car that is highly targeted for theft could increase your cars insurance rates.
The following is a list of Wyoming's most stolen cars in 2013, according to www.nicb.org:
- Ford Pickup (Full Size).
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size).
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size).
- GMC Pickup (Full Size).
- Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size).
- Chevrolet Tahoe.
- Honda Accord.
- Chevrolet Impala.
- Chevrolet Trailblazer.
- Dodge Durango.
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington DC
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!