- Location: Wyoming
Paperwork When Buying a Car in WyomingGet detailed Vehicle History Report in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start a Search:Page Overview
If you're buying a car from a dealer, the required paperwork should be handled by the dealer. But, if you're buying from a private seller, you need to deal with the paperwork directly.
The single most important document is the title. Make sure all the sellers listed on the title sign in the sellers' box. These signatures will need to be notarized.
If a Wyoming title is being transferred, the signing needs to actually take place in front of a notary. If the title is from out of state, a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection needs to be conducted. This can be done by any authorized law enforcement officer in the state.
An Odometer Disclosure Statement is necessary if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
You must also obtain a bill of sale. All parties involved in the sale should be named on it, along with the agreed-upon selling price, and the make and year of the vehicle.
It just can't be done.
If the title is lost or damaged, the seller needs to apply for a duplicate before you can legally buy the vehicle. The seller can go to a county clerk's office and either apply in person or via snail mail for a duplicate. The state requires an 11-day waiting period before issuing a duplicate title, and all owners of the vehicle must sign the notarized application.
Don't worry about getting the registration document from the seller. You won't need it when you apply for a title and registration in your name.
This document is needed when a change of ownership takes place. For convenience sake, you can easily download a copy of this form from our Bill of Sale page.