Dealer-related Information in Wyoming
There are three types of license plates of interest to vehicle dealers and manufacturers: full-use, demo, and manufacturer. In order to acquire any of these plates, a dealer or manufacturer must first be licensed in the state of Wyoming.
All plates are issued at the county level through the locally elected treasurer. The fee for manufacturer and demo plates is $25 each. The fee for full-use plates is $125 each.
Note: Dealers that sell fewer than 12 vehicles in a calendar year can only apply for one demo plate and are restricted from having a full-use plate.
The basic forms a dealer needs to do business―temporary permits, reassignment forms, and power of attorney forms―are available to buy from the Cheyenne Dealer Licensing office or at points of entry around the state.
- Temporary permits: $0.50 per form or $25 per box
- Dealer reassignment forms: $5 for a box of 25
- Secure power of attorney forms: $20 for a box of 100
Note: The numbered forms are dealer specific and cannot be shared with other dealers.
For further information, contact Dealer Licensing at (307) 777-4717.
The Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) has a Compliance and Investigations unit that ensures the auto dealers uphold the laws etched into the Wyoming Statutes. The section of the statutes that chiefly applies to dealers and manufacturers is Title 31, Chapter 16: Motor Vehicle Franchises.
If a consumer has a concern with a purchase from a dealer, the statutes are a good place to answer many questions. They are also where you can find out if you have a valid complaint against a dealer. If a consumer finds they have a legitimate grievance, they can either try first to resolve it with the dealer or file a formal complaint with the state.
To file an official grievance, you must completely fill out the Consumer Complaint form and mail it to this address:
- Compliance & Investigation Section
- Wyoming Department of Transportation
- 5300 Bishop Blvd.
- Cheyenne, WY 82209-3340
For further information, contact the Compliance and Investigation Unit at (307) 777-3815.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
- 5 Reasons to Welcome Big Brother Into Your Car
- Would Iron Man buy rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.