Suspended CDL in West Virginia
CDL Suspensions in West Virginia
The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles follows standards set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration for commercial drivers.
Violations of certain CDL rules will lead to a disqualification of your WV commercial driver’s license. Disqualification of your CDL refers to any loss (suspension, revocation, or cancellation) of your driving privileges.
Read more to learn about CDL suspensions, reinstatement, and fees.
Rules for West Virginia CDL suspensions can differ from standard driver’s license rules, with most regulations being harsher for CDL holders.
Offenses leading to CDL disqualifications in WV are categorized by the state and federal laws into the following:
- Major offenses.
- Serious traffic violations.
- Railroad-highway grade crossing offenses.
- Violating out-of-service orders.
NOTE: CDL disqualifications can be in addition to other criminal penalties and fines.
Unless otherwise noted, the following offenses will result in CDL disqualification, whether the offense was committed in a commercial vehicle (CMV) or personal vehicle:
- Alcohol- and drug-related offenses, including:
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Breaking implied consent laws by refusing a breath or blood test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Using your vehicle to commit a felony.
- Causing a death through negligent operation.
- Operating a commercial vehicle when your CDL is disqualified, suspended, or revoked.
Most major offenses will result in the following disqualification terms:
- 1st violation: 1 year.
- Increased to 3 years if transporting hazardous materials.
- 2nd violation: Lifetime disqualification.
Depending on the offense, your lifetime ban may be lifted after 10 years.
Serious Traffic Violations
Your West Virginia CDL can also be disqualified for serious violations, which include the following:
- Reckless driving.
- Excessive speeding.
- Making improper lane changes.
- Following too closely.
- Causing a fatal accident by violating any motor vehicle traffic control law (with the exception of parking violations).
- Operating a CMV without:
- A valid CDL.
- A CDL on your person.
- The required CDL endorsements.
For serious violations, your CDL will be disqualified after your:
- 2nd violation within 3 years: for 60 days.
- 3rd violation within 3 years: for 120 days.
Railroad Crossing Violations
As a CMV operator, you are held to strict standards when approaching and crossing a railroad. In West Virginia, your CDL can be disqualified for:
- Failing to slow down and check that the tracks are clear.
- Failing to stop when you’re required.
- Driving across the tracks when there’s not enough room for your commercial vehicle or insufficient undercarriage clearance.
- Failing to obey a traffic control device or enforcement official at the crossing.
Railroad crossing violations will result in the following disqualifications:
- 1st violation: Minimum of 60 days.
- 2nd violation within 3 years: Minimum of 120 days.
- 3rd violation and any additional violations within 3 years: Minimum of 1 year.
If you violate an out-of-service order, you are subject to the following disqualification terms:
- 1st violation: 180 days.
- 2nd violation in 10 years: 2 years.
- 3rd violation and additional violations (in 10 years): 3 years.
If you violate an out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials, you are subject to the following disqualification terms:
- 1st violation: 180 days.
- 2nd violation and additional offenses in 10 years: 3 years.
Check Your License Status
If you are unsure of or concerned about your CDL status, you can check your West Virginia driving record.
Because your WV commercial driver’s license is an absolutely essential component to your career, it’s a great idea to check your driving record periodically. Staying on top of your driving record can help you avoid a disqualification.
You may be required to fulfill several requirements given to you by the DMV and/or convicting court before you are eligible to reinstate your CDL in West Virginia.
The DMV’s regional offices do not handle driver’s license reinstatements.
To learn more about reinstating your disqualified CDL, contact the DMV’s customer service line at (800) 642-9066 for more information.
NOTE: As part of your reinstatement, you may be required to apply for a new CDL and take all tests associated with a CDL application.
As part of your WV commercial license reinstatement requirements, you may need to pay a reinstatement fee. Reinstatement fees vary depending on your violation.
Reinstatement fees are separate and in addition to any other fines or penalties related to your violation.
Contact the DMV at (800) 642-9066 for more information.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!