DMV Point System in West Virginia
The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system to monitor the traffic tickets you receive, even after you've paid the required fines.
Below, you'll find information on how the WV DMV point system works and how points can affect your license.
Points & Your WV Driver's License
With a large enough accumulation of points, you could lose your driving privileges—making getting to work, school, and even just the supermarket a full-on mission.
The West Virginia DMV will suspend your license if you have at least 12 points on your record at any given time.
The length of your suspension will depend on how many points you've accrued:
- 12 to 13 points: 30 days.
- 14 to 15 points: 45 days.
- 16 to 17 points: 60 days.
- 18 to 19 points: 90 days.
If you have 20 points or more on your WV driving record, your license will be suspended until you can reduce the total to 11 points or fewer.
If you're convicted of DUI, your driver's license will be automatically suspended (among other possible penalties) until you complete the necessary steps for reinstatement. Check out our guide to suspended WV licenses for more.
Knowing what's on your driver record is very important. If you aren't sure how many points you've accrued, especially after receiving a traffic citation, check your WV driving record!
West Virginia Point Schedule
The amount of points added to your WV record depends on the seriousness of the traffic ticket you receive.
In West Virginia you'll also receive points on your driving record for offenses you commit out-of-state. So, when you cross state lines make sure to bring your good driving habits with you!
Below, you'll find some common traffic offenses and their corresponding point values. If you'd like to see the full point schedule, check out the WV DMV's brochure on the point system.
NOTE: Commercial drivers in West Virginia may face higher point assessments AND license suspension for certain traffic violations. Take a look at our guide to CDL suspension for more information.
Violations with Fewer Points
Below are some traffic violations that could relatively fewer points to your driving record:
- Failing to use turn signals: 2 points.
- Following too closely behind another vehicle: 2 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road on one-way street: 3 points.
- Littering: 3 points.
- Failing to obey a stop sign: 3 points.
- Failing to obey a traffic light: 3 points.
- 3rd offense for using your cell phone (calling or texting) while driving: 3 points.
- Speeding 11 to 14 MPH over the speed limit: 3 points.
Violations with Higher Point Values
Here are a few examples of traffic offenses that add the most points to your driving record:
- Going 15 to 19 MPH over the limit: 5 points.
- Driving 20 MPH or more over the limit: 6 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points.
- Reckless or Careless driving: 6 points.
- Fleeing from law enforcement: 8 points.
For committing offenses that carry higher point values, you might have to go to traffic court to plead your case. For advice on how to prepare for court, take a look at our page on fighting WV traffic tickets.
DID YOU KNOW: If you've accrued a lot of points on your record, you could end up paying more for auto insurance. If you just received a citation, make sure you know exactly how traffic violations can affect your car insurance rates.
Clearing Your WV Driving Record
Reducing the amount of points on your West Virginia driving record is crucial to maintaining your driving privileges.
Fortunately, the WV Division of Motor Vehicles will remove points for a traffic violation 2 years after the conviction date.
You also have the option of taking a defensive driving course, which:
- Removes 3 points from your record.
- Keeps your license from being suspended ONLY if you:
- Are facing 30 days of license suspension.
- Can submit proof that you completed the defensive driving course PRIOR to your suspension start date.
The West Virginia DMV allows you to take a defensive driving course for point reduction once every 12 months.
Have Pledged to Not Drive Distracted.