Menu

Other Vehicle Registrations in West Virginia

SUMMARY: How to Register Special Vehicle Types in West Virginia

In West Virginia, most other vehicle types are registered in the same way as standard passenger cars and trucks. You may need to pay slightly different fees due to your vehicle type, size, and/or weight.

WV All-Terrain Vehicles

To title an ATV in West Virginia, you'll need:

  • 5% of the purchase price.
  • The manufacturer's statement of origin, or a notarized bill of sale.
  • $10 title fee ($5 extra if there's a lien on the ATV).

Visit your local WV DOT office with the above documents and payment to apply for your ATV title.

Remember, there are many rules you need to follow when operating an ATV in West Virginia. Some rules relate to:

  • Where you are authorized to operate the vehicle.
  • What age you must be and your level of experience.
  • The time of day you can drive your ATV.
  • Speed.

For more information, read the West Virginia Code on ATVs.

Snowmobiles in West Virginia

The West Virginia DOT lets you either title or register your snowmobile―or both.

To title your snowmobile, you'll need to take to your local WV DMV regional office:

  • 5% of the purchase price.
  • The manufacturer's statement of origin, or a notarized bill of sale.
  • Payment for the $10 title fee ($5 extra if there's a lien on the snowmobile).

If you choose to register your snowmobile in WV, follow the same process as you would if you were registering a regular passenger vehicle.

Register Your WV Trailer

You must title and register your utility trailer in West Virginia.

When you're ready to title the trailer, take to your local WV DOT office:

  • 5% of the purchase price.
  • The manufacturer's statement of origin, or a notarized bill of sale.
  • Payment for the $10 title fee ($5 extra if there's a lien on the trailer).

Registering a WV utility trailer is a bit different than registering a vehicle.

If the trailer is 2,000 lbs. or heavier, registration is $50 and you'll get a license plate that is renewed every 3 years.

Motorhomes and RVs in West Virginia

If you have a motorhome or recreational vehicle (RV) in West Virginia, make sure you have it registered before you take it for a spin. Follow the instructions listed on our Registering a Car in West Virginia page—the process is the same. Be ready to pay a slightly higher fee due to the size of your RV.

Custom-Built Vehicles

If you have a custom-built vehicle, you will need to visit your local West Virginia State Police office first before you can have it registered and titled. Submit a completed Verification of Vehicle Identification No. (Form DMV-18) and a police officer will make sure your vehicle doesn't already have a VIN and that no parts have been stolen.

Once you've completed this step, simply follow the instructions listed on our WV Car Registration page.

WV Scooter and Moped Registration

Mopeds, scooters, motorized bicycles, and similar vehicles must be registered with the WV DOT following the same guidelines as motorcycle registration.

Insurance and Inspection Requirements

In West Virginia, in order to register your vehicles, you MUST have insurance coverage. For more information and to get some quotes, visit our Insurance Center.

Depending on the type of vehicle you have, you may also be required to pass a safety inspection every 12 months. If you fail to have a valid inspection sticker on your vehicle, you may face fines and other penalties. For more information, contact the WV Department of Transportation

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Other Vehicle Registrations in Another State?