Motorcycle Registration in West Virginia
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
Are you enjoying the exhilaration of driving through West Virginia's scenic roadways on your motorcycle? It's definitely an exciting experience. Though, you can't let all that fun allow you to forget that motorcycles have to go through basically the same registration and titling processes as other motor vehicles.
Registering your motorcycle for the first time is similar to registering your car for the first time. You can register and title your motorcycle for the first time in one of two ways: at the dealership from which you purchased your motorcycle, or at your local Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
If you purchased your motorcycle from a dealership, the dealer will handle all paperwork for you and you'll be charged the applicable fees right there.
If you purchased your motorcycle from an individual, or you simply wish to handle the registering and titling yourself, visit you local DMV office with:
- A bill of sale (if purchased from an individual)
- An MSO Certificate of Origin signed by the dealer (if purchased from a dealership)
- Proof of auto insurance
- Payment for all applicable fees
New residents must title and register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing West Virginia residency. Take your current title and registration to your local DMV office and they'll give you the necessary paperwork to complete.
Motorcycle registration fees are the same as car registration fees; however, you will pay $10 for your motorcycle license plate rather than the $30 you would pay for a car license plate. Visit the official DMV website for a detailed outline of titling and registration fees.
After registering, you must also have your motorcycle inspected for safety.
Renewing your motorcycle registration is similar to renewing your car registration. Your motorcycle registration expires on July 1 of every year. You'll receive your renewal notification in the mail about 30 days before your registration expires.
Return the accompanying form, along with proof of insurance, a personal property tax receipt, and applicable fees to your local DMV office in person or in the mail. Personal property taxes are handled by the County Assessor and collected by the County Sheriff―if you need more information, contact your county courthouse.
County Sheriff's offices can also handle the renewal of your motorcycle registration.
If you don't receive a renewal notice, you may renew your registration by mailing or presenting in person to your local DMV office a copy of your old registration card, proof of insurance, a personal property tax receipt, and all applicable fees.
The fee to renew your motorcycle registration is $16.
VISIT THESE HELPFUL PAGES
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- Chrysler Caves, Recalls 2.7 Million Jeep Grand Cherokees and Liberty SUVs
- Chrysler Cold Shoulders Government’s Recall Request
- Driver Signs: A Zodiac Guide to Your Road Habits
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting