Identification Cards in West Virginia

SUMMARY: West Virginia Identification Cards

Applications for an ID card must be made in person at a WV DMV office. You will need to provide proof of your identity, SSN, WV address, and pay the required fee. Renewals and duplicates must also be applied for in person.

This page will help you apply for an ID card from the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as well as replace or renew it.

Eligibility for a Photo ID Card

To be eligible for an ID card in West Virginia, you must be:

  • A resident of West Virginia.
  • A legal resident of the U.S.
  • At least 2 years old.

If you’re 2 to 14 years old, you will need your parents to sign your application form. You will receive a youth ID card valid for 2 years.

Apply for a WV Identification Card

You must apply in person for either a standard ID card or REAL ID-compliant card in West Virginia.

NOTE: A REAL ID card will show a gold star and can be used for travel between neighboring countries by land or sea. For more information, read our REAL ID Act article.

Visit your local West Virginia DMV office and submit:

  • A completed Application for a Driver’s License or Photo ID Card (Form DMV-DS-23P).
  • 1 document proving your identity, such as your:
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • Permanent resident card.
    • U.S. passport.
  • 1 document proving your Social Security number (SSN), such as your:
    • Social Security card.
    • Pay stub.
    • 1099 form.
  • 2 documents proving your WV residency, such as your:
    • Utility bill (issued within the last 60 days).
    • Lease agreement.
    • Bank statement (issued within the last 60 days).
  • Proof of your name change (if applicable), such as your:
    • Marriage certificate (certified).
    • Court order.
    • Divorce decree (certified).
  • Payment for the fee.

NOTE: Visit the WV DMV website for a list of documents you must bring.

You will also need to have your photo taken and surrender any U.S. driver’s licenses you may have.

If you applied for a REAL ID card, you will receive a temporary state ID card to use until your permanent card arrives in the mail within 15 business days.

Fees for a Non-Driver ID Card

The fee for an original or renewed West Virginia ID card is:

  • $2.50 per year PLUS $0.50.
  • $5 for 2 years (for a youth ID card).
  • $10 for a REAL ID card, in addition to the fees above.

The number of years your ID card is valid for depends on your age:

  • 16 to 20 years old: Your ID card will expire when you turn 21 years old.
  • 21 years old or older: Your ID card will expire when you turn an age divisible by 5 years.

Renew Your ID Card in West Virginia

Your WV photo ID card will be valid:

  • Until you turn an age divisible by 5 years, if you’re 21 years old or older.
  • Until you turn 21 years old, if you’re 16 to 20 years old.
  • For 2 years, if you have a youth ID card.

To renew your West Virginia photo ID card, visit your local WV DMV office and:

For a complete list of accepted documents, please visit the West Virginia DMV website.

Replace an ID Card

If your WV non-driver ID card has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you must visit a WV DMV office to order a duplicate. You will need:

Visit the West Virginia DMV website for a complete list of required documents for a duplicate ID card.

Change Your Name or WV Address

If you’ve changed your name—whether due to marriage, divorce, or other reason—you must notify the WV DMV in person and get a replacement ID card.

If you’ve changed your address, you’ll need to notify the West Virginia DMV by mail.

For complete instructions, visit our following pages:

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Be a Hero
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 0

heroes have registered as organ donors.

Looking for Identification Cards in Another State?