Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Salesperson License in West Virginia

    Compare Car Insurance Quotes in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip:

    Application Deadlines

    Instructions for people employed before June 8, 2006 are included in the Motor Vehicle Salesperson License Application.

    Instructions for people employed after June 8, 2006 are outlined below.

    Application Process

    The application process for the vehicle salesperson license consists of seven fairly straightforward steps:

    1. Request fingerprint cards from any of the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Regional Offices . Submit two complete sets of fingerprints before testing, and have valid picture identification in order to be fingerprinted.
    2. Download and complete the Motor Vehicle Salesperson License Application. Or, pick one up from your nearest WV DMV Regional Office. Make sure your employer completes the required sections.
    3. Take your fingerprint cards, your valid picture identification, and your completed application to your local WV DMV Regional Office.
    4. Pay $7 per each year you'll be licensed. The number of years depends on your birthday, but will always be between 1 and 5 years. This fee covers 1 chance at the exam. (See below for more information about the exam.)
    5. If you pass, pay the $25 fee for a background investigation.
    6. Receive your temporary Salesperson License Photo Identification Card. This card is valid for 90 days, during which time you should receive the results of your background investigation.
    7. Wait for your background investigation results. Once they're in, the DMV will notify you and your temporary status will automatically change to permanent status.

    Note that your employer―the dealer for whom you are working―can help you contact the local inspector should you need to at any point.

    The Vehicle Salesperson Exam

    As mentioned above, your license fee covers the cost of one exam. That fact, coupled with the fact that you can only take it once a week until you pass, makes it extra important to pass on your first try, right?

    Prepare yourself! The WV DMV provides a Salesperson Study Guide online. Of course, DMV.org also provides important information regarding dealer-related code and the WV Lemon Law.

    Salesperson License Renewal

    After your initial renewal period, you'll renew your license every 5 years for $10. Add $5 to that if you let it expire. If it's expired for more than 6 months, you'll have to go through the entire application process again.

    Duplicate Salesperson License

    If you lose your license, or it becomes stolen or damaged, you must pay $5 for a duplicate.

    Transferring Salesperson Licenses

    If you move to a new dealership, you have 10 days within the end date and hire date to notify the division, using the Salesperson Notification of Change (Form DMV-12-DS), and you must pay a $5 transfer fee.

    Send the completed form and fee to the address on the form.

    Note that you'll need the signatures of both your former employer and your new employer.

    True or False

    Doctors don’t work with the same urgency to save your life if they know you’re an organ donor.

    True False

    False

    Every doctor's first priority is to save your life regardless of your organ donation status.

    More Organ Donor Myths ▸ Become an Organ Donor ▸