Traffic Tickets in Wisconsin
Continue reading below for more information about what to do if you receive a traffic ticket in Wisconsin.
Traffic ticket fines, surcharges, and court fees in Wisconsin vary by violation and county court. Find out how much you must pay by referring to your traffic ticket. If you lost your ticket, you'll need to contact the appropriate municipal or circuit court.
NOTE: If you're convicted of a serious violation, you could receive an automatic driver’s license suspension.
In addition to the traffic ticket fines you receive, your Wisconsin traffic court may also impose surcharges and fees depending on your violation. Here are some examples of additional surcharges you may have to pay:
- Court support services fee: $68.
- Court cost: $25.
- Crime lab and drug assessment: $13
- Driver improvement surcharge: $365 for all driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs (DUI) infractions.
- Truck driver education fee: $8 (applies to commercial drivers).
Driving Records Points
When a traffic court convicts you of a WI traffic violation, points will be added to your driving record and generally remain for 5 years. If you accumulate 12 points or more within 12 months, the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driver’s license.
Go to our page about DMV Point System in Wisconsin for more details.
NOTE: Your auto insurance company may raise your rates when you are convicted of a traffic violation. To search for a lower rate, you can compare car insurance quotes online from multiple providers.
Your payment options for a traffic ticket in Wisconsin will vary by county court. Check your WI traffic ticket or contact the relevant municipal or circuit court listed on your ticket for instructions.
In most cases, you may be able to pay your WI traffic ticket:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
NOTE: Be sure to submit your payment in time. If you fail to pay your WI ticket fines by the deadline on your traffic ticket, you may receive additional fines and penalties, including a driver’s license suspension.
To fight your Wisconsin traffic ticket, you'll need to submit a not guilty plea to the court listed on your traffic ticket. Depending on court, you may be able to submit your plea:
- By mail.
- By fax.
- In person.
Your traffic ticket will give you specific instructions on how to proceed.
NOTE: If you fail respond to your Wisconsin traffic ticket, you could face additional fines and a suspended driver’s license.
Don't delay. Failure to respond to your citation before the due date can result in additional fines and penalties.
As a commercial driver, you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic ticket in Wisconsin (regardless what type of vehicle you were driving).
Refer to your traffic ticket for specific details about your ticket fine. If you do not have your traffic ticket or you would like additional details, contact the appropriate municipal or circuit court.
Some violations you commit with a commercial driver's license (CDL) may have harsher penalties compared with a regular driver's license, including a suspension. Visit our Suspended CDL in Wisconsin page for more information.
Read our Traffic Ticket FAQ page to get more information about the following topics:
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!