Renewing Your License in Wisconsin
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:
To maintain good legal standing on the road, you must renew your driver's license every eight years before your birthday.
Maintaining car insurance is also a legal requirement. If you have yet to settle on a carrier, or are interested in comparing rates, visit our Insurance Center.
You have but one option for renewing your Class D license: in person.
If you're hazy on the the current status of your license, before renewing you should erase doubts by ordering a driving record report.
NOTE: Commercial drivers follow different requirements when it comes to renewing.
If you don't renew by your birthday, you'll be assessed a $5 late fee. Keep in mind that you'll face a much harsher financial penalty if caught by the police while driving with an expired license. If you are confused about your license's status, you can gain peace of mind by ordering a driving record report.
A driving record report will provide current information on the status of your suspension. If you're cleared for reinstatement, you may discover a considerable jump in insurance rates as a result of your suspension. If it exceeds your budget, you can search for lower rates at our Insurance Center.
For detailed information on how to reinstate your license, visit our section on license suspension.
If your license is lost, stolen or mutilated, you need to order a duplicate. Learn how at our Replacing a Lost License page.
Your renewal notice should arrive in the mail four to six weeks prior to your birthday in the year your license expires. But if you don't want to wait for it to arrive, you can renew up to one year in advance.
If you don't receive a notice, either complete a Wisconsin Driver License/ID Card Application, or call (608) 266-2353.
That option is not available.
That option is not available.
Bring to the DMV service center:
- Your current driver's license.
- Your renewal notice (if you lose this, you must complete a Wisconsin Driver License/ID Card Application.
- Your Social Security card.
- Cash or check to pay the $34 renewal fee.
- A Certificate of Vision Examination by Competent Authority or pass the vision test administered by the DMV.
Your renewed driver's license will be mailed within two to three weeks.
When it comes to renewing your license, you should also give thought to refreshing your driving skills by enrolling in a supplemental traffic driving course. Though it is not required, it will enhance your road-awareness, and maybe even trim your insurance rates.
If your insurance company does not offer traffic school discounts, you can always shop around for one that does at our Insurance Center.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.