Menu

Pay Traffic Ticket in Wisconsin

SUMMARY: How to Pay a Wisconsin Traffic Ticket

Depending on your county court, you may be able to pay your WI traffic ticket fines online, by mail, by phone, or in person. For detailed ticket payment instructions, refer to your WI traffic ticket or contact the municipal or circuit court handling your case.

Continue reading for more information about paying traffic ticket fines in Wisconsin.

Pay Ticket
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)

  • Pay the fine.
  • Option to plea bargain penalties.
  • Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
  • Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
  • Possibly have points reduced by attending traffic school.

Learn more by reading below.

Fight Ticket
(Plead Not Guilty)

  • Contest traffic ticket via trial.
  • Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
  • Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
  • No penalties if found not guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees.

Learn more about
Fight Traffic Ticket »

What It Means to Pay Your WI Traffic Ticket

In Wisconsin, paying a traffic ticket is admitting guilt, waiving your right to a court trial. This means:

  • Once you pay your ticket fines, no further action is required on your behalf.
  • Points may be assigned to your Wisconsin driving record.
  • Depending on your driving history, your WI driver's license may be suspended.
  • You may be eligible to reduce points by completing a state-approved traffic safety course.
  • The traffic violation's appearance on your WI driving record may cause a jump in your car insurance rates.

Pay Your Traffic Citation On Time

The traffic court must receive your "guilty" plea (payment) before the citation's court date passes. If no plea has been entered for your traffic ticket, the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your WI driver's license and the court may:

  • Issue a bench warrant for your arrest.
  • Enter a civil judgment against you, allowing for a lien to be placed against any real estate you own.
  • Charge you interest.
  • Seize your tax refund.
  • Refer your case to a collection agency.

Pleading Guilty as a Wisconsin CDL Driver

In addition to paying a fine for a WI traffic ticket conviction, you must also:

  • Notify your employer within 30 days of the traffic violation conviction date.
  • Notify your employer within 2 business days if your CDL is suspended, revoked, cancelled, or disqualified.
  • Notify the Wisconsin DMV of being convicted of an out-of-state traffic violation.

Consult Wisconsin's Commercial Driver's Manual for more information on CDL rules and regulations.

Pleading Not Guilty in Wisconsin

You also have the right to challenge your WI traffic ticket. Presenting a strong case could sway the court to reduce charges or dismiss the ticket. Our Fight Traffic Ticket page explains how to plead "not guilty" to a traffic ticket in Wisconsin.

Pay Your Wisconsin Traffic Citation

Provided "Mandatory Appearance" is not indicated on your traffic citation, you may pay the WI traffic ticket fine prior to the due date without appearing in court. Read your traffic ticket to find out how to submit payment. Depending on the court, you may have some or all of the following ticket payment options:

  • Online.
  • In person.
  • By mail.
  • By phone.

Online

If the option to pay a WI ticket online is available, the website address will be posted on your traffic ticket. You will need the citation number and a valid credit card to complete the transaction. Expect to pay a convenience fee.

In Person

Pay the court listed on your WI traffic ticket. Call ahead for accepted forms of payment and hours. Be sure to bring your Wisconsin traffic citation. Some courts offer drop boxes for off-hours.

By Mail

Send to the court indicated on your WI traffic citation. Do NOT send cash. Write the traffic ticket number on the check.

By Phone

Have your WI traffic citation number, your license plate number, and a valid credit card when calling.

Get Points Removed From Your WI Driving Record

Depending on your situation, the state may give you the green light to have 3 points removed from your WI driving record by completing a traffic safety course. Read all the details in our Traffic Safety Courses page.

Check Your Wisconsin Driving Record

It's always wise to check your WI driving record for accuracy after receiving a traffic ticket. Contact the WI DMV if you notice any point total errors.

Shop for Lower WI Auto Insurance Rates

Increased car insurance rates usually follow traffic violation convictions in Wisconsin. Keep in mind, the option always exists to switch providers. Comparing vehicle insurance rates online is a fast and efficient means of finding WI insurance coverage that meets your needs and fits your budget.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Pay Traffic Ticket in Another State?