- Location: Wisconsin
Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Wisconsin
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
High gas mileage, high mobility, and all-around fun―no wonder mopeds and scooters are immensely popular in Wisconsin. It's important to understand state laws governing these vehicles, because different procedures and rules apply.
Mopeds are defined as vehicles that come with an engine that is 50 cubic centimeters (cc) or less for automatic transmissions, or 130 cc or less if it has bike-style pedals.
Mopeds must be titled and registered, just like a car or motorcycle. Registrations expire every two years in April, and cost $23. You'll receive one license plate, which stays on it even if it's sold.
You just need a regular driver's license to operate a moped, or you can get a special restricted license permitting you to only operate a moped. An instruction permit doesn't count.
Moped riders need to obey all the usual traffic laws. While mopeds may be driven on public roads (except where outlawed), don't drive them on freeways or sidewalks. You can take up a traffic lane as long as you're not blocking traffic. You can't have any passengers on your moped.
You're not required to wear a helmet or have your lights on during daylight, but the state (and your mother) recommends doing both.
Titles cost $45.
These are classified as two-wheeled vehicles with a electric or gasoline motor that can propel the vehicle without human propulsion.
Motorized scooters don't need to be titled or registered.
For safety, wear a helmet when you ride, and don't let anyone under age 12 use one. You can't drive them on public streets; the state treats them like lawn mowers or go-carts. If you're too young to have a license and get caught riding one illegally, you can become ineligible to get your license when you turn 16.