Identification Cards in Wisconsin
Compare Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:
Being a non-driver used to present a challenge to those who did need some sort of identification, such as those under the age of 16, the elderly who may have stopped driving, and any other non-driving citizen. Now, anyone may apply for a Wisconsin State identification card at their local DMV service center.
According to the law, no one is permitted to hold more than one identification card or driver's license. If you had a drivers' license at one time, but for whatever reason no longer drive, you may exchange it for a state identification card. If you have either a license or a state identification card from another state but are now a Wisconsin resident, you must surrender the out-of-state identification and apply for a Wisconsin state identification card.
If you are new to Wisconsin or even if you have been here for some time but have never applied, here's a list of what you'll need to be prepared to do when you apply for your Wisconsin state identification card:
- Complete the Identification Card Application, which is available online using the free Adobe Reader.
- Provide proof of your name and date of birth.
- Show proof of your identity.
- Provide documentation to prove your Wisconsin residency.
- Give your Social Security number.
- Have your photograph taken.
- Pay the $28 fee; $16 for duplicates
Once you have completed all the required steps and paid the fee for your Wisconsin state identification card, you will be issued a paper receipt at the DMV office. You new Wisconsin state identification card will be sent to you by U.S. Postal service within the next 2-3 weeks.
If you move or otherwise change your address, you must notify the Wisconsin DMV within 10 days.
A new state identification card will not be sent to you automatically. If you wish to obtain a new card with your current address, you will need to go in person to your DMV service center, pay a fee of $16 and request a new ID card with your current address. Otherwise, once you notify the DMV of you new address, you may simply write it on your existing card.
The Wisconsin DMV will mail you a reminder notice approximately 30 days before your ID card's expiration date of your birthday. Simply take this reminder along with your ID card to your local Motor Vehicle regional Office, pay the $28 renewal fee, and your ID card will be valid for another period of eight years.
To replace a lost or stolen ID card you must visit any DMV office (except the express offices in Madison and Burlington) and bring:
- Proper identification.
- Proof of legal presence in Wisconsin.
- The ability to pay a $16 duplicate fee.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback