Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Drivers Ed in Wisconsin

    Pass Your Test with DMV Cheat Sheets

    Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It’s like having the answers before you take the test.

    • Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
    • Just print and go to the DMV
    • Driver’s License, Motorcycle & CDL
    • 100% Money Back Guarantee

    Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet

    Driver’s Education in Wisconsin

    Driver’s Ed teaches teen drivers the facts, theories, and techniques of safe driving in both a classroom setting and behind the wheel of a car.

    The Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all new drivers under 18 years old to complete driver’s education as part of the graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) process.

    GDL programs restrict new drivers and gradually increase freedom as teens become more experienced.

    Wisconsin Driver’s Education Eligibility

    You must be enrolled in a Driver’s Ed course before you can apply for your Wisconsin instruction permit. To obtain your permit, you must:

    • Be at least 15 1/2 years old.
    • Be enrolled in or have graduated high school (or equivalent).
    • Pass a vision, knowledge, and road signs test.

    For more detailed information about applying for a Wisconsin learner’s permit, see our page on Drivers Permits in Wisconsin.

    Once you have obtained your WI instruction permit, you must begin your behind-the-wheel component of the driver's education course within 60 days.

    New Wisconsin Residents

    If you have recently moved to Wisconsin and have already completed Driver’s Ed in another state, you do not have to retake it as long as your course included both:

    • Classroom instruction.
      AND
    • Behind-the-wheel instruction.

    You will need to take your certificate of completion to the WI DMV when you apply for your learner’s permit.

    About Your Wisconsin Driver’s Ed Course

    Driver’s Ed is offered in most high schools and through private driving schools in Wisconsin.

    All courses must meet certain standards to ensure that you receive complete, correct information and instruction.

    Visit the WI DMV website for a full list of approved private driving schools.

    Course Curriculum and Cost

    Approved driver’s education courses provide both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction.

    Classroom instruction covers topics including:

    • Driving laws.
    • Safe driving techniques.
    • Alcohol and drug awareness.

    Behind-the wheel instruction includes:

    • Time behind the wheel to learn and practice driving skills.
    • Time observing classmates as they learn and practice skills.

    Fees and course schedules vary, so check with your chosen program for more information.

    Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours

    Your Wisconsin Driver’s Ed course must include a minimum of:

    • 30 hours of classroom instruction over at least 6 weeks.
      • Summer programs can be completed in 3 weeks.
    • 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction over at least 3 weeks.
      • Limited to 1 hour per day.
    • 6 hours observing other learner drivers.

    Some courses may provide additional hours of instruction or use different methods, like driving simulation, for part of the classroom or behind-the-wheel sections.

    After Driver's Ed - Getting Your WI Driver’s License

    Once you’ve successfully completed both components of your Wisconsin driver’s education course, you are on your way to getting your probationary driver’s license.

    Before applying, you must:

    • Be at least 16 years old.
    • Have held your instruction permit for 6 months or longer.
    • Have not had any violations in the past 6 months.
    • Have practiced driving for 30 hours (including 10 hours at night).
      • NOTE: Up to 5 hours driving with an instructor can be counted as double. For example, 5 hours can count as 10 hours.
    • Be enrolled in or have graduated high school (or equivalent).
    • Pass a driving skills test.

    For more information about applying for your WI driver’s license, including application fees and required documents, see our page, Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Wisconsin.

    Please enter your zip code, OR city and state abbreviation


    Choose a County

    • No Counties with results.

    Be a Hero
    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 0

    heroes have registered as organ donors.