Defensive Driving in WisconsinPage Overview
Defensive Driving in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, a defensive driving course (or traffic school) may be used to remove demerit points from your driver record. This could possibly prevent your driver’s license from being suspended.
You can also complete traffic school voluntarily and get a possible auto insurance reduction. To see if you’re eligible for an insurance rate reduction, you’ll need to check with your insurance provider.
If you’re taking traffic school in Wisconsin you can complete your course either:
- In person at a technical college.
- Online through an approved provider.
The online option has been found to be the more convenient option due to the course being accessible around the clock and able to be completed in multiple sittings.
If you prefer an online traffic school course, you are usually required to complete it within a specified period of time (commonly within 180 days of registration). If you do not successfully complete your course by the due date, it will count as a failed course and you won’t be eligible for a refund.
In-person courses will have set schedules and attendance policies.
In Wisconsin, completing a defensive driving course may allow you to:
- Dismiss a traffic ticket.
- Receive an auto insurance discount.
- Learn valuable safe driving skills.
The WI courts may also require you to complete defensive driving as part of your sentence.
Dismiss a Wisconsin Traffic Ticket
Usually, if you’ve received a traffic ticket, the court will send you a notice indicating whether you can dismiss your ticket by completing a defensive driving course. This is not always the case.
You should always check with your court to find out if you are eligible to dismiss your traffic school course this way.
Generally, you will be eligible to dismiss your traffic ticket by attending traffic school if:
- You were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of your citation.
- You have a valid WI driver's license in your possession.
- You were not cited for more than one violation.
- You haven’t attended a traffic school within the last 12-18 months.
Contact the court handling your case to find out if you’re eligible.
Get an Auto Insurance Discount
Depending on your car insurance provider, you may be eligible for a safe driver discount once you’ve completed traffic school.
Check with your provider before you enroll to make sure you will receive a discount. They may have special requirements you must meet to be eligible.
Traffic school courses offered at technical colleges in Wisconsin last 12 hours. They are designed to reduce the number of traffic violations and car crashes in the state.
The course will allow you to examine your driving behavior while reviewing WI traffic laws and penalties. A strong emphasis of the course content will focus on ways to drive responsibly and improve your current driving habits.
Depending on your Wisconsin driving record status, you may also have 3 points removed from your driving record once you complete the course.
For more information, visit the following pages:
For information about online courses, associated fees, and course curriculum, contact your course provider directly.
In addition to a traffic safety school program, depending on your offense and driving history, the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may also require you to complete a:
- Failure to yield course.
- Group dynamics course.
- Multiple-offender program.
See the WI DMV website for more information about these courses and a list of course providers.Organ Donation Survey
Are you currently registered as an Organ Donor?
Thank you! Besure to keep your registration up to date.Update Your Organ
Donor Information ▸
- In person at a technical college.