Motorcycle License in Washington
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
To ride a motorcycle on Washington's streets and highways, licensed drivers must obtain a motorcycle endorsement from the Department of Licensing (DOL).
Obtaining a motorcycle endorsement in Washington is a matter of taking the proper training and tests, including written and riding exams. You do not need an appointment for a written test, but you do need one for a riding test.
To obtain a motorcycle endorsement, Washington drivers have two options:
- You may complete an approved motorcycle rider course. This allows you to waive the knowledge and skills tests. Bring a Certificate of Completion to a Washington Licensing Services Office within 180 days of passing the course.
- If you do not take an approved rider course, you must pass a written test based on the contents of the motorcycle rider's manual. This will allow you to obtain an instruction permit so you can practice for the riding test.
To qualify for a motorcycle instruction permit in Washington, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Possess a valid Washington driver's license.
- Pass the motorcycle written test.
You'll be asked to pay a $5 application fee before taking the written test. Once you pass and are issued an instruction permit, you'll be allowed to ride on Washington roads, but with the following restrictions:
- You may not carry passengers.
- You may not ride at night.
Once you've practiced and then taken the road test, the fee to be issued a motorcycle endorsement on your driver's license is $25. For Washington riders who are under 18, you must participate in an approved rider class before applying for a motorcycle endorsement. Both the course and the endorsement require parental or guardian approval.
Washington does not require insurance for motorcycles, but riders do have minimum insurance requirements for financial responsbility. You might be required to deposit cash or post a bond with the DOL for as much as $25,000 if you're found to be at fault in an accident.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
- The REAL ID Act: Are You Ready for a National ID?
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- Bicycling While Boozing
- Federal Agency Stirring Around the Idea of Lowering BAC Limit to .05 Percent
- Pot Runs to Legalized Marijuana States Putting Cops on High Alert
- Behind the scenes: Iron Man & rental car insurance
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.