- Location: Washington
Commercial Driver FAQs in WashingtonGet Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
When do I need a commercial driver's license (CDL)?
If you want to drive the following vehicle types, you need a CDL:
- Vehicles weighing 26,001 pounds or more.
- Vehicles hauling trailers weighing 10,001 pounds or more with a combined weight of 26,001 pounds or higher.
- Vehicles transporting 16 or more people, including you as the driver.
- Vehicles carrying placarded amounts of hazardous materials.
What class of license do I need?
Vehicles are divided into three classes: A, B, and C. The higher class CDL you have, the more vehicle types you are allowed to drive as long as you have the necessary endorsements. Here is a breakdown of the three classes of commercial license:
Class A: Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of at least 26,001, when the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is more than 10,000 pounds.
Class B: Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a maximum 10,000 pounds GVWR.
Class C: Any single vehicle or combination of vehicles that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or is placarded for hazardous materials.
What are the maximum vehicle sizes I can drive?
There are state rules and laws that regulate commercial drivers and their vehicles. These regulations can be found in the Washington Department of Licensing's Commercial Driver Guide, which mentions rules like:
- Maximum length of a bus: 40 feet.
- Maximum length of a single trailer: 53 feet.
- Maximum length of double trailers: 61 feet combined.
- Maximum width of any vehicle: 8.5 feet.
- Maximum height of any vehicle: 14 feet (excluding emergency and utility vehicles).
- Maximum speed: 60 mph, unless posted differently.
Is there any way to get around the vehicle size limits?
If you need to be waived from size limits such as those listed above, you can get permits from Washington's Department of Transportation. Contact them at:
- Permit Office
- Maintenance and Operations Group
- Transportation Building
- Olympia, WA 98504
I got a speeding ticket. Do I need to tell my boss?
Those with commercial licenses have to adhere to higher standards than those without. If you hold a CDL, you need to:
- Let your employer know within 24 hours if your CDL is revoked, suspended, or canceled.
- Let your employer know within 30 days if you get any traffic ticket.
- Provide the Department of Licensing (DOL) with proof of insurance from your employer if your personal driver's license is revoked or suspended.
- Notify the DOL of all out-of-state traffic violations within 30 days via mail at the address below:
- Department of Licensing
- P.O. Box 9030
- Olympia, WA 98507-9030
I have lots of questions about commercial licenses. Where can I get more information?
The Washington Department of Licensing offers extensive information on the following commercial driver topics:
- Hazardous materials endorsement
- Skills testing
- Drug and alcohol screening
- Driving a school bus
- Medical exam
- Instruction permit
What should I do if I get into an accident while driving a commercial vehicle?
If you're involved in an accident, it's important that if you're not injured, you help those who are. Driving such a large vehicle on the highways puts you at an advantage in an accident. At the same time, it puts those who are unlucky enough to be in an accident with you at greater risk for injury or death.
Do what you can to help. Being certified for first-aid and CPR is highly recommended.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard