Traffic School in Vermont
On this page you’ll find general information about the benefits of a defensive driving course, possible reasons for taking a class, and who to contact for information regarding your specific situation.
Completing Vermont defensive driving courses/traffic school can be a great way to gain a refresher on your knowledge of the rules of the road and help you develop good driving habits.
Most programs last anywhere from 4 to 12 hours. Depending on your reason for taking defensive driving, you may have the option of completing the course in a classroom or online.
Online defensive driving programs give you the added luxury of learning the same safe driving curriculum at your own pace.
Most traffic school courses cover topics including:
- Traffic laws in Vermont.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Sharing the road with other drivers, motorcyclists, bicyclists, and pedestrians.
- Alcohol/drug-related violations.
- Developing and practicing safe and responsible driving behaviors.
- Accident avoidance skills.
Certain courses may include a final exam, which you will need to pass in order to earn your traffic school completion certificate.
For more information about your options for completing a course and courses near you:
- Contact the Vermont DMV.
- Talk to your car insurance provider.
- Contact the court handling your case.
- Search online or in your phone book for defensive driving, traffic school, or driver improvement programs.
Court Ordered Defensive Driving & Driving Records in Vermont
Depending on the nature of your violation and your personal driving history, you may be required to complete a defensive driving course by your Vermont traffic court.
If required to take traffic school to satisfy a conviction, you’ll likely receive details about:
- Your deadline for completing the course.
- Which defensive driving courses you may choose from.
- Any additional fees and documents you may need to submit to the court.
Please contact your court for more information.
Remember, the Vermont DMV will keep track of your traffic violations on your driving record. If you commit too many minor traffic offenses or certain major offenses, you run the risk of receiving a driver’s license suspension.
For more information on suspended driver’s licenses and ordering your personal driving record, please visit our pages on:
If you find yourself committing the same traffic violations, completing a defensive driving course may be a smart choice.
You may be eligible for a discount on your car insurance rates for completing a defensive driving course voluntarily.
Contact your Vermont car insurance provider for information about your eligibility and options for taking traffic school to earn a discount.
If you are not able to earn a Vermont defensive driving course discount and your rates have become too expensive, you may want to consider shopping around for a new car insurance provider.
Visit our Insurance Center to compare rates.
Should you decide to complete a defensive driving course for a safe driver discount, you can expect to learn the following:
- Vermont driving laws and regulations.
- Road signs and common driving symbols.
- Drunk driving dangers and consequences.
- Hazard prevention reactions and techniques.
Most courses run between 4 and 12 hours, and online courses can be taken at your own pace. Once you've passed, your traffic school provider should issue you a certificate of completion for you to submit to your car insurance company. Contact your insurance agent for details about what courses may be available to you.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!