Title Transfers in Vermont
- The seller assigns the title over to the buyer and provides an odometer disclosure and bill of sale.
- The buyer brings the paperwork from the seller to the DMV.
- The buyer completes a title and registration application form.
- The buyer submits all documents, plus payment for the titling fees.
Continue reading for more details on Vermont vehicle transfers.
Vermont requires a title on vehicles 15 years old and newer. After moving to the state, if your vehicle falls within this classification, you'll need to visit your local Department of Motor Vehicles office to transfer your out-of-state title and register your car.
Bring to your local DMV office:
- Your out-of-state vehicle title and registration.
- A completed Vermont Title and Tax Application (Form TA-VT-28), IF you do NOT wish to register your vehicle. It is illegal to operate a vehicle in Vermont if it is not registered.
- A completed Registration/Title/Tax Application (Form TA-VD-119), IF you are also registering your vehicle at the same time.
- You may reference the DMV's application instructions form.
- An Odometer Disclosure Statement for vehicles 9 years old and newer.
- This can be listed and signed for on the title, or you may use the Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TA-VT-05).
- Proof of tax paid in your previous state.
- Proof of VIN verification.
- This can be conducted at the DMV office or by a law enforcement official.
- Payment for required title fees and taxes.
Your title will be mailed either to you, if you are the sole owner, or to your lienholder, if applicable.
Buying from a Dealer
Typically, Vermont dealers are able to take care of the titling and registration process for you when you purchase a new vehicle. However, some may not be, in which case you will need to visit your local DMV office to title the vehicle yourself.
Bring with you:
- The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO).
- Vehicles built in Canada will also require a New Vehicle Information Statement.
- A completed Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TA-VT-05).
- Payment for your vehicle titling fees.
Buying from a Private Party
If you purchase a used Vermont vehicle in a private sale, you'll need to obtain the following documents and submit them to your local DMV office:
- The original vehicle title, properly assigned over to you by the owner.
- If the title is missing, the seller needs to give you the previous registration certificate, and you will need to have the vehicle undergo a VIN inspection.
- A completed Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TA-VT-05), filled out by you and the seller.
- Proof of a lien release, if applicable.
- The vehicle cannot be sold to you if it still has a lien against it.
- A completed Registration/Title/Tax Application (Form TA-VD-119).
- Payment for your titling fees and taxes.
Selling a Car in Vermont
If you're selling a vehicle to another party, the buyer is responsible for submitting the required paperwork to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
As the seller, you are responsible for turning over the proper documentation to the buyer. This includes:
- Assigning the original vehicle title over to the buyer.
- Filling out a Bill of Sale and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form TA-VT-05) with the buyer.
- Providing or obtaining a lien release, if applicable.
- You cannot sell the vehicle with a lien still on it.
Gifted & Donated Vehicles in Vermont
When transferring ownership of a VT vehicle as a gift, the gifter acts as the seller, and the recipient acts as the buyer in the transaction.
Inherited VT Vehicles
The process for transferring ownership of a vehicle when the owner has passed away differs based on a number of different factors—whether the car was owned jointly by spouses, whether it was owned solely by the deceased, whether it was owned by the deceased and unrelated persons, etc.
Please refer to the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles' Death Informational Bulletin for all possible scenarios, and the requirements for each.
Designating a Beneficiary
Here are the basic titling fees and taxes you will owe when titling a vehicle in Vermont:
- Original title: $33.
- Title transfer: $33.
- Clear title after lien removal: $33.
- Corrected title: $33.
- Duplicate title: $33.
- Assignment of security interest to title: $10.
- Title search: $20.
- Vehicle tax: 6% of taxable vehicle cost.
Once you have paid off a loan on your car, you can obtain a clear title from the DMV that removes the name of your lienholder as co-owner of the vehicle.
Send a Release of Lien (Form TA-VT-08) to your lienholder. They should input their information and sign the title back over to you.
If you've lost or misplaced the title to your Vermont vehicle, or you need to change information on it, you can order a replacement through the VT DMV.
Duplicate Title Application (Form TA-VT-04) along with payment for your duplicate title fee to your local DMV location. You may also need to bring proof of ID and your current registration certificate, so have those on hand—just in case.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.