Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Suspended CDL in Vermont

    Commercial Driver’s License Suspensions in Vermont

    If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) was suspended/disqualified by the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to satisfy your disqualification requirements to reinstate it.

    Your CDL may be disqualified for violations committed in both commercial and non-commercial vehicles. Disqualifying violations include:

    • Speeding and reckless driving.
    • Following too closely and erratic lane changes.
    • Violating out-of-service orders.
    • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol offenses.
    • Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
    • Driving without the proper CDL endorsements.
    • Driving without a CDL in your possession.
    • Hit and runs.
    • Committing a felony with your commercial vehicle.

    On this page you’ll find information about your disqualification/suspension and how to reinstate your CDL.

    About Your Vermont CDL Suspension

    The duration and reinstatement requirements of your CDL disqualification will vary depending on your offense and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges are also suspended.

    NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face court requirements and fines.

    Your CDL and commercial driving privileges are subject to state and federal regulations, including disqualifications lasting:

    • 1 year for a 1st violation of a major offense, such as:
      • DUI/DWI or drug-related offenses.
      • Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
      • Hit and runs and leaving the scene of a truck accident.
      • Using your commercial vehicle in a felony.
    • 3 years for a 1st violation of a major offense, if you were transporting hazardous materials.
    • A lifetime for a 2nd violation of a major offense.
    • 60 – 120 days for multiple serious traffic violations within 3 years.
    • 60 – 120 days for railroad highway grade crossing violations.

    For a complete list of penalties and CDL suspensions, visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration website.

    NOTE: You will be charged with a DUI if you are caught driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

    By law, you must notify your employer:

    • Within 30 days of any conviction for a traffic offense.
    • By the end of the next business day after you receive your disqualification notice, if your CDL is suspended, disqualified, revoked, or cancelled.

    When your CDL is suspended/disqualified, the VT DMV will mail you a notice of suspension/disqualification. For information about your specific situation, refer to your notice or contact the Vermont DMV:

    NOTE: Your CDL can also be disqualified for non-commercial vehicle violations. For more information, please see our page on Suspended Licenses in Vermont.

    Check Your Commercial Driver License Status

    Serious traffic violations can lead to CDL disqualifications AND points on your driving record.

    If you accumulate too many driving record points, the Vermont DMV may suspend your non-commercial driving privileges – and with them, your CDL as well.

    You can order your Vermont DMV driving record to:

    • View your traffic offenses.
    • Check your driver license status.
    • Keep track of your driving record points.

    Suspended CDL Hearings in Vermont

    Depending on the circumstances of your CDL disqualification/suspension, you may be able to request a Vermont DMV administrative hearing.

    NOTE: DMV administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions. If you want to appeal a court disqualification/suspension, you must contact the court.

    For information about requesting an administrative hearing, contact the Vermont DMV by calling (802) 828-2016.

    Reinstate Your VT Commercial Driver’s License

    Your CDL reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your disqualification and whether or not your non-commercial driving privileges have also been suspended.

    To reinstate your Vermont commercial driver’s license, you may need to:

    • Retake and pass the commercial driving skills and knowledge tests.
    • Satisfy any court requirements, if applicable.
    • Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Vermont” below.)

    You can pay your reinstatement fees:

    • By mail to:
        Vermont DMV
        Attn: Driver Improvement
        120 State Street
        Montpelier, VT 05603
        • Provide a note that includes your:
          • Full name.
          • Birth date.
          • Mailing address.
    • Online on the Vermont DMV website.
      • You’ll need to enter your:
        • Commercial driver’s license number.
        • Suspension notice/ticket number.
        • Birth date.

    After paying reinstatement fees online, the Vermont DMV should contact you within 7 business days.

    Fees to Reinstate Your CDL in Vermont

    Your Vermont CDL reinstatement fees may vary depending on your offense. Below are general Vermont DMV fees that may apply to your situation.

    Test Fees:

    • Test scheduling deposit: $20.
    • Initial knowledge test: $35.
    • Subsequent knowledge tests: $30.

    Reinstatement Fees:

    • Driver license reinstatement: $71.
    • Online driver’s license reinstatement: $73.

    Additional Copies of Notices:

    • Suspension notice: $6.
    • Reinstatement notice: $6.

    NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may need to pay additional court fees and fines.

    For specific fees to reinstate your Vermont CDL, refer to your disqualification notice or contact the Vermont DMV.

    Acceptable Forms of Payment

    The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the following forms of payment for suspended license reinstatements and restricted licenses.

    • In person:
      • Cash.
      • Check or money order made payable to “Department of Motor Vehicles.”
      • Credit/debit card.
    • By mail: Check or money order made payable to “Department of Motor Vehicles.”
    • Online: Discover, MasterCard, and VISA credit/debit card.

    NOTE: Some transactions may incur an additional convenience fee.

    Compare Commercial Insurance Rates in 3 Steps

    1. Enter Your Zip: