- Location: Vermont
Safety Laws in VermontCompare Car Insurance Rates in 3 Easy Steps
1. Start Your Quote:Page Overview
Helmets are required for all riders.
Helmets are not required, regardless of age. Needless to say, wearing one greatly reduces the risk of injury, especially in children.
- Headlights must be turned on a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise.
- Your headlights must allow you to see 150 feet ahead of you.
You must have a white headlight visible from 500 feet, and a red rear reflector.
Modulating headlights are permitted for daytime use.
Cell phone restrictions:
- All drivers under 18 are banned from using cell phones.
- All drivers, regardless of age or license status, are banned from texting while behind the wheel.
- All kids under the age of one and all kids who weigh less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing, federally-approved child safety seat.
- All kids who weigh over 20 pounds and fall in between the ages of one and eight must ride in either a booster or a child safety seat.
- Kids between the ages of eight and 15 must ride in a child passenger restraining system, or use a seat belt.
If you're in the market for one, you can shop online for a child car seat at any time. Before ordering, be sure to read our articles on How to Buy a Child Safety Seat and How to Install a Child Safety Seat.
If you're caught with inappropriate child safety seating:
- First offense―$25
- Second offense―$50
- Third Offense―$100
To report a drunk or a dangerous driver, call either 911 or your local police department. Be sure to provide the vehicle's license plate number, make and model, location and travel direction.
Call 911 if you sense that an unattended child left inside a vehicle is in danger. Remain at the vehicle until authorities arrive.
Call either the local police or animal control unit if you suspect an unattended pet left inside a vehicle is in danger due to excessive heat or cold.Other Topics in This Section
- Traffic Alerts
- 511 Traffic Systems
- Tire Recalls
- Safety Laws
- How Emotions Affect Driving
- Driving in Hazardous Conditions
- Teen Drivers: A Beginner's Guide
- Seniors: When To Turn Over The Car Keys
- Packing Your First-Aid Kit
- Seven Senior Safety Suggestions
- Wildlife on the Road
- When to Call Wildlife Rescue
- Taking A Mature Driver Course
- Medications & Driving
- Night Driving
- Hallucinations on the Road
- How To Drive Distraction Free
- Treating Motion Sickness
- Road Rage: How To Deal With It
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard
- Say Hello to Tougher Texting-While-Driving Penalties, New York!
- New Study: Voice Texting and Traditional Texting Equally Distracting
- California Bans Use of Cell Phone GPS While Driving
- Teen Driver Safety: Seat Belt Use
- Headlight Laws Vary Little Throughout the Nation