Renewing Your License in Vermont
Renewing your driver license?
Perfect time to compare car insurance rates.
1. Start Your Quote:
You must own a driver's license to operate a vehicle, making it mandatory to renew your license either every two or four years.
You must be able to prove financial responsibility, in most cases that means carrying car insurance. If you're in the market for a new carrier, you can conveniently compare rates at our Insurance Center.
Options abound. Not only can you choose between renewing every two or four years, but also how to renew. Your options include:
- Renewing by mail
- Renewing in person
If you're curious to the current status of your license, obtaining a detailed driving record report is easy.
NOTE: Visit our commercial section for step-by-step information on how to renew a CDL.
If you happen to miss the date to renew your license, it will only be valid for 14 days after its expiration date. Even though you won't be fined if you try to renew after this 14-day window, you will be ticketed if caught by the police driving with an expired license.
If your license has remained lapsed for more than three years and you decide to renew, you will be required to pass the vision, road, and written tests.
Your license should display an expiration date. But, if you prefer, you can order a driving record report, which will, among other things, tell whether your license is expired or not.
Ordering a driving record report will give you a current update on the status of your suspended license. When (if) you become eligible to renew, you may notice that your insurance rates have jumped significantly due to the suspension. It's your call, but you may want to consider shopping for lower premiums at our Insurance Center.
For more information on how to renew a suspended license, visit our license suspension page.
Has your license disappeared or been stolen? Need a duplicate? Visit our Lost License page.
You should receive a renewal notice approximately 30 days before your license expires. If you don't receive a notice, you'll have to complete another driver license application.
Currently not an option.
- Complete and sign your renewal notice.
- Complete a driver license application.
- Include a check ($48 for four years, $30 for two years).
- Mail to the address below:
- Department of Motor Vehicles
- 120 State St.
- Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
Your new license should arrive in the mail within two weeks.
Visit any DMV office with:
- Your completed and signed registration renewal form.
- A completed driver license application (if you did not receive a renewal notice).
- Cash or check to pay your renewal fee ($48 for four years, $30 for two years).
You will immediately receive your new license, provided you get a new photo taken. If you opt against a new picture, your new license should arrive in the mail within two weeks.
To keep your driving skills sharp and honed, you should consider enrolling in a supplemental traffic school course every few years. Though not required, it will help keep you road-alert while behind the wheel, and, maybe, depending on your carrier, give you a discount on your insurance rates.
If your carrier does not acknowledge the benefits of a traffic school, you can always shop online for a new carrier that does at our Insurance Center.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.