Renewing Your CDL in Vermont
Get Free Commercial Auto Insurance Quotes from Multiple Providers
Enter Your Zip Code:
Approximately four weeks before your commercial driving license is set to expire, the Department of Motor Vehicles will mail you a notice. You then must complete the renewal form and take it to your nearest DMV location.
This must be handled in person. You cannot mail it in, because all Vermont CDLs require current photos. And be sure to bring along all appropriate renewal fees (see below). You may also need to get a new medical exam.
At the time of your renewal, you may choose to upgrade your license class or add endorsements. To do either of these, you'll need to take the appropriate tests and pay an additional fees for each endorsement or upgrade listed. The fees are listed at the end of this article.
Unlike most other license renewals that require hardly anything more than your signature, renewing your hazardous materials endorsement takes some effort. Before you renew, you must pass a hazmat knowledge (written) test. The reason behind this is that hazmat transportation rules are constantly changing, and Vermont authorities want to make sure you are up to date on all revisions.
Even if you fail the test, you will be allowed to renew your CDL. However, you won't be allowed to haul placarded hazardous materials until you retake the exam and pass.
You will need to call Central Scheduling at (802) 828-2085 to schedule a test time.
In addition to the exam, because of provisions in the USA PATRIOT Act, you will have to:
- Complete a Federal Security Threat Assessment application.
- Provide proof of U.S. citizenship (primary and secondary identification) or proof of your immigration status.
- Have your fingerprints taken for the FBI database.
- Submit to a federal and state background check.
- In addition to your regular renewal fee, you will also have to pay $89.25 for the background check and fingerprinting.
This whole ordeal is not a one-time process. Background checks and fingerprinting will be required every time you renew your hazmat endorsement.
Don't wait until the day before your license expires to begin the fingerprinting and background checks. These take time and could cause your license to expire if you wait until the last day.
- Four-year CDL: $75
- Two-year CDL: $50
- CDL subsequent test: $25
- CDL class upgrade exam test: $25
- Each endorsement test: $10
You must self-certify your type of vehicle operation with the Vermont DMV by January 2014. This means you must self-certify one of the following driving categories:
- Non-Excepted Interstate
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must provide the DMV with a federal medical certificate.
Check out Vermont's Medical Self-Certification page for detailed information.
Other Topics in This Section
Your Opinion Matters To Us!Send Feedback
Instant Driving Record
Check for tickets, violations, and confirm your drivers license status with a instant self-check driving record.
We put a lot of effort into making our content helpful & accurate. Please let us know if you see something that isn't clear or correct; we are here to ease any frustrations you may have while navigating DMV topics. We are not a government agency, please reach out to your local DMV, insurance agent, or respective professional for further assistance on specific situations.