- Location: Vermont
Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in Vermont
Compare Motorcycle Insurance Rates in 3 EASY STEPS
Enter Your Zip Code:
So if you're a scooter owner don't be offended if you only see the word "moped" listed on application forms and used in the VT's Motorcycle Licensing Guide and Operator Manual.
Be aware that as of September 1, 2010 the Vermont Legislature officially renamed mopeds as "motor-driven cycles."
To register your bike as a moped or scooter, it must meet adhere to the following:
- Cannot exceed over 30 mph on a level surface.
- Engine must operate without a need for clutching or shifting.
- Cannot possess an engine larger than 50 cubic centimeters.
- Restricted to two or three wheels.
To register complete a Vermont Motor Vehicle Registration, Tax, and Title application. Even if you're registering a scooter be sure to check the box labeled "moped" in section 1B. Take this, along with a bill of sale and proper identification, to any DMV office that handles registrations. Cost: $21.
Mopeds and scooters are not immune to the rules of the road. You must possess a valid Vermont driver's license (a motorcycle endorsement is not required, but a motorcycle learner permit is, at times) in order to operate, and adhere to the same traffic regulations as all other vehicles.Articles
- 5 Important Steps If You Lost Your Drivers License
- I-94 Forms and Arriving in the U.S.
- What to do if the Colorado Floods Damaged Your Car
- 9 Urgent Must-Dos If You Lose Your Driver’s License
- 7 Reasons Student Drivers Fail Their Written Permit Exam
- Werner Herzog’s Texting-and-Driving Documentary Slated to Hit Hard