Search
Search & Choose State
  • Location:

  • Special Vehicles in Vermont

    Registering a car?

    It's a good time to check car insurance rates

    Find the lowest rate among top providers.

    The Green Mountain state's sweep of forests makes it prime for off-road traveling in the form of all-terrain vehicles (ATV) and snowmobiles. To keep a grip on the growing popularity of these vehicles the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all to be registered, including the trailers used to haul these machines.

    Snowmobiles

    All snowmobile registrations, regardless of when the snowmobile was or is purchased, begin September 1 and end August 31.

    Registering a New Snowmobile

    Okay, here's what you need to do:

    • Complete an appropriately named Vermont Snowmobile Registration/Title Application (Form TA-VD-38). If the dealer does not complete Section 6 on the application, you must also submit a Vermont Use Tax Return (Form SU-452).
    • Provide an original copy of the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin.
    • Furnish a bill of sale for sales tax purposes and a second bill of sale that includes the machine's make, model, identification number, purchase price, date, and signature of seller.
    • Pay a $25 registration fee if you are a resident, or $32 if you are a non-resident.
    • Deliver in person to any DMV office that handles registrations.

    Registering a Used Snowmobile

    Submit the following to any DMV office that handles registrations:

    • A completed Vermont Snowmobile Registration/Title Application (Form TA-VD-38).
    • The machine's original title. Make sure the title harbors all required signatures and, if applicable, all liens are released. If the snowmobile was not previously titled instead present its last registration certificate.
    • A bill of sale.
    • Pay a $25 registration fee if you are a resident, or $32 if you are a non-resident.

    Registration Placement

    The registration number must be displayed on the left side of the snowmobile, adjacent to a valid Vermont Trails Assessment decal.

    ATV Registration

    If your ATV's model year is before 2004, or it is older than 15 years old, you must apply for a title with Vermont's DMV.

    New ATVs

    To register your four-wheel brute simply:

    • Complete a Vermont Motor Vehicle Registration, Tax, and Title Application (Form TA-VD-119). The application is long and by first glance looks woefully imposing. To assist you through it the application thankfully comes with detailed instructions.
    • Provide an original copy of the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin.
    • Furnish a bill of sale for sales tax purposes and a second bill of sale that includes the machine's make, model, identification number, purchase price, date, and signature of seller.
    • Pay a $25 registration fee.
    • Deliver in person to any DMV office that handles registrations.

    Used ATVs

    To register submit the following to any DMV office that handles registrations:

    Trailer Registration

    It is illegal to tug an unregistered trailer on any of Vermont's highways. So, to keep on the good side of the law and in order to register you must:

    • Complete a Vermont Motor Vehicle Registration, Tax and Title Application  (Form TA-VD-119). The application is fist-shaking long and by first glance looks fiendishly imposing. To assist you through it the application thankfully comes with detailed instructions.
    • Provide a bill of sale.
    • Furnish an original copy of the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin if the trailer is new.
    • Pay a $25 fee if the trailer is 1,500 lbs. or fewer, or a $49 fee if the trailer is above 1,500 lbs.
    • Deliver to any DMV office that handles registrations.

    Questions

    If you have registration questions call (802) 828-2000.

    Recreational Vehicles and Motorhomes

    Recreational vehicles (RVs) and motorhomes must be registered just like a regular car in Vermont. Follow the instructions on our Register Car in Vermont page.

    The fees you'll need to pay will vary depending on the length of your registration and whether your RV runs on gas or diesel. The fees for motorhome registration are the same as for a regular car.

    Scooters and Mopeds

    Scooters, mopeds, and similar vehicles must be registered in Vermont. The process is the same as registering a car.

    These vehicles are categorized as "motor-driven cycles" if they have:

    • 2 to 3 wheels.
    • An automatic transmission.
    • An engine up to 2 horsepower and 50 cc.
    • A top speed of 30 MPH on flat ground.

    Motorized cycles or scooters with larger engines, higher speeds, or manual transmissions are considered motorcycles, and they must also be registered.

    Other Registration Links