Menu

Motorcycle Registration in Vermont

Vermont residents must register their motorcycles with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) before riding on the road is legally permitted. Use this guide to learn more about VT motorcycle registration for new residents AND current residents who recently purchased a bike.

If you need to renew your motorcycle registration, head over to our Vermont registration renewals guide!

New to Vermont

Upon establishing Vermont residency, you'll have 60 days to register your motorcycle with the DMV.

BEFORE submitting a registration application, a VIN verification is required for all motorcycles being registered in Vermont for the first time that meet the following qualifications:

  • Titleable motorcycles 300 cc or more, most recently registered out of state.
  • ALL used motorcycles 500 cc.

If your bike qualifies, you'll need to have a Verification of VIN or HIN (Form TA-VT-10) completed by a/an:

  • Law enforcement officer.
  • Employee under the direct supervision of law enforcement.
  • DMV agent.

Once your VIN inspection is complete, you can finish the registration process by visiting your local DMV office with:

  • A completed Registration Tax & Title Application (Form D119).
  • The current out-of-state title for the motorcycle.
    • If a lienholder has the title, bring the:
      • Current registration certificate.
      • Lienholder's name and address.
  • Proof of Vermont motorcycle insurance.
  • A current odometer reading.
  • A completed VIN verification (if applicable).
  • Proof of tax paid on your motorcycle from your previous state of residence.
    • If the tax paid is less than what is required in Vermont, you may be required to pay the difference.
    • If you have owned your motorcycle for 3 years or more in a state that collects tax, you will be exempt from this requirement.
  • Payment for the applicable motorcycle registration taxes and fees.

You'll then have 15 days from your motorcycle's registration date to complete a safety and emissions inspection at one of Vermont's approved vehicle inspection stations.

Registering Your VT Motorcycle

The process for registering your motorcycle with the VT Department of Motor Vehicles varies depending on whether it was bought at a dealership OR from a private seller.

Motorcycles Purchased at Dealerships

If you purchased a motorcycle at a Vermont dealership, the dealer will handle the process for registration for you.

Make sure to check with the dealership to make sure no additional steps will be required on your end. Here's a breakdown on the motorcycle fees and taxes you'll pay, typically included in the bike's purchase price.

Once the paperwork is submitted to the DMV, you'll receive your license plates, title, and registration in the mail.

Motorcycles Purchased from Private Sellers

To register a motorcycle purchased from a private seller in Vermont provide the following at your local DMV office:

Still need to title your recently-purchased motorcycle? Check out our Vermont title transfers guide for more.

VT Motorcycle Registration Fees

You may be required to pay the following fees and taxes when you register your motorcycle with the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles:

  • Motorcycle registration—Varies by registration period and engine type:
    • 1 year:
      • Gas or diesel engines: $48.
      • Alternate fuel engines: $83.
    • 2 years:
      • Gas or diesel engines: $96.
      • Alternate fuel engines: $165.
  • Title: $35.
  • Lien recording: $11 each.
  • Sales tax: 6% of the net taxable cost.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

Looking for Motorcycle Registration in Another State?